Programme

FLATLAND

Jenna Bass

South Africa, Luxembourg, Germany, 2019 / 90 min / English and Afrikaans OV with English subt. (EN & Afrikaans OV with EN subt.) / Adventure, Road Movie, Western

An all-female South African western adventure.

The world of lonely, middle-aged policewoman Beauty Cuba changes forever when she receives a call for help from Billy, the lost love of her life who has recently been re-arrested for murder. Beauty returns to her home town of Beaufort West, deep in the heart of the surreal landscape of the Karoo semi-desert and quickly learns that this case is not as simple as she thought. The real culprit of this accidental murder is a painfully shy young woman named Natalie who flees her small, rural town on horseback and teams up with her now pregnant childhood friend Poppie to outrun the law.

Flatland is a journey of self-discovery for these three different but equally desperate women, painting a vivid and unique portrait of femininity against a hostile frontier-land and questions what it means to be a woman in contemporary South Africa and the world at large.

 

Screenings
Wed 13/03 21:15 Ciné Utopia EN & AFRIKAANS OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26840&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Nicole Fortuin, De Klerk Oelofse, Unikitty, Marco Diaz, Olivér Sárközi, Dvo Marvel, Mahon Andoniaina
Screenplay 
Jenna Bass
Cinematographer 
Sarah Cunningham
Sound 
Loic Collignon, Kévin Feildel
Set 
Sara Hartinger
Production 
Proper Film, Deal Productions, In Good Company
Coproduction 
Unafilm, ZDF/Das kleine Fernsehspiel in coproduction with Arte
Distribution 
Match Factory
Biography

Jenna Bass is a South African director, writer, photographer and former magician born in 1987. She is a graduate of Cape Town’s College of Magic and AFDA Film School and started her career directing music videos. Her first short, The Tunnel (2010), was selected for the Focus Features Africa First Program and screened at Sundance and the Berlin Film Festival. Her debut feature Love the One You Love (2014) won awards for Best Actress, Best South African Feature Film and Best Direction at the Durban International Film Festival. Jenna Bass is the editor and co-creator of “Jungle Jim”, an illustrated pulp-literary magazine for African fiction. She is currently engaged in a VR collaboration with artist Olivié Keck and South African indie game developers Free Lives. Flatland (2019) is her third feature film.

Filmography
  • 2019 – Flatland
  • 2017 – High Fantasy
  • 2014 – Love the One You Love
  • 2010 – The Tunnel (short)

Programm

FLATLAND

Jenna Bass

Südafrika, Luxemburg, Deutschland, 2019 / 90 min / Englische und Afrikaans Originalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln (EN & Afrikaans OF mit EN UT) / Abenteuer, Roadmovie, Western

Ein feministischer, südafrikanischer Western.

Die Welt der allein lebenden Polizistin Beauty Cuba gerät aus den Fugen, als Billy, ihre verlorene Liebe, nach seiner erneuten Verhaftung wegen Mordes einen Hilferuf an die Mittfünfzigerin richtet. Beauty kehrt daraufhin in ihre Heimatstadt Beaufort West zurück, die inmitten einer surrealen Halbwüstenlandschaft liegt. Bald begreift sie, dass die Angelegenheit komplizierter ist als es schien. Die wirkliche Mörderin ist eine schüchterne junge Frau, Natalie, die inzwischen mit ihrer schwangeren Kindheitsfreundin Poppie auf einem Pferd geflohen ist, um der Justiz zu entrinnen.

Flatland ist die Reise einer Selbstfindung für diese drei völlig unterschiedlichen, doch gleichermaßen verzweifelten Frauen. Der Film zeichnet ein lebendiges und einzigartiges Porträt der Weiblichkeit, die sich auf feindlichem Gebiet zu behaupten sucht und erkundet, was es heißt, als Frau im heutigen Südafrika und auf unserer Welt zu leben.

 

Vorstellungen
Mi 13/03 21:00 Ciné Utopia EN & AFRIKAANS OF mit EN UT Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26840&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Nicole Fortuin, De Klerk Oelofse, Unikitty, Marco Diaz, Olivér Sárközi, Dvo Marvel, Mahon Andoniaina
Drehbuch 
Jenna Bass
Kamera 
Sarah Cunningham
Ton 
Loic Collignon, Kévin Feildel
Szenerie 
Sara Hartinger
Produktion 
Proper Film, Deal Productions, In Good Company
Koproduktion 
Unafilm, ZDF/Das kleine Fernsehspiel in coproduction with Arte
Verleih 
Match Factory
Biografie

Die 1987 geborene Südafrikanerin Jenna Bass ist Filmemacherin, Schriftstellerin, Fotografin und Zauberkünstlerin. Nach ihrem Studium am College of Magic in Kapstadt und an der Filmschule AFDA realisierte sie ihren ersten Kurzfilm The Tunnel (2010), der auf den Filmfestspielen von Berlin, beim Sundance Film Festival und im Focus Features Africa First Short Film Program vorgestellt wurde. 2014 drehte und produzierte sie ihren ersten Langfilm Love the One You Love miteinem minimalen Budget und gewann damit mehrere Preise in den Kategorien beste Schauspielerin, bester Langfilm und beste Regisseurin auf dem Durban International Film Festival. Jenna Bass ist Chefredakteurin und Mitbegründerin des Pulp-Literaturmagazins « Jungle Jim » für afrikanische Literatur. Derzeit arbeitet sie mit der Künstlerin Olivié Keck und den südafrikanischen Videospiel-Entwicklern Free Lives an einem VR-Projekt. Flatland (2019) ist ihr dritter Langfilm.

Filmografie
  • 2019 – Flatland
  • 2017 – High Fantasy
  • 2014 – Love the One You Love
  • 2010 – The Tunnel (Kurzfilm)