Programme

LIVRE D’HEURES

Suzan Noesen

Luxembourg, 2019 / 25 min / Luxembourgish original version with English subt. / Fiction

Collaboration Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain
Director Suzan Noesen will be attending

A personal look at intergenerational cohabitation

Back in Luxembourg after years of working and studying abroad, Suzan Noesen moves in with her grandmother in the old family farmhouse in a small Luxembourgish village after failing to find affordable accommodation and studio space elsewhere. The two end up living in a creative shared living space - with all that this entails. Two contrasting mentalities emerge: the grandmother’s more rigid approach and the supposedly more open nature of her granddaughter. This opposition is explained by the women’s different experiences of work and the female condition, despite being motivated by identical human desires.

The true protagonists of the film, in addition to the women, are the actions and rituals that structure their day. The film is divided into four chapters, marked by the rhythm of daily activity - talking in the kitchen, eating meals together, discussing the need to put flowers on grandfather’s grave. Livre d'heures is a film about intergenerational difference, about identity, about the interdependence of two women and their individual dependence on time.

Financed by Filmfund Luxembourg „Carte Blanche“ and OEuvre National de Secours Grand-Duchesse Charlotte - Fonds stART-up

Screenings
Fri 08/03 18:30 Ciné Utopia LU OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26638&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Yvonne Noesen-Ries, Suzan Noesen, Alina Faber, Yannis Meys
Screenplay 
Suzan Noesen
Cinematographer 
Oliver Waldbillig
Montage 
Pia Dumont
Directeur de la photo 
Amandine Klee
Sound 
Bruno Schweisguth
Set 
Michèle Tonteling
Music 
Georges Goerens, Nuria Bonet, Suzan Noesen
Production 
Suzan Noesen
Distribution 
Suzan Noesen
Biography

Suzan Noesen is a Luxembourg-based multidisciplinary artist who has previously worked in Berlin and Leipzig. Active on the art scene since 2011, her practice is focused on drawing, painting, singing, installation, text, photography, and performance. She instigated and organised a series of group exhibitions between 2007 and 2017.

Filmography
  • 2018 – Livre d‘heures (short)

Programm

LIVRE D’HEURES

Suzan Noesen

Luxemburg, 2018 / 25 min / Luxemburgische Originalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln / Fiktion

In Partnerschaft mit dem Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain
In Anwesenheit der regisseurin Suzan Noesen

Ein persönlicher Blick auf das Zusammenleben zweier Generationen

Nach Jahren der Arbeit und des Studiums im Ausland kehrt die Künstlerin Suzan Noesen nach Luxemburg zurück und zieht aufgrund des Mangels an erschwinglichem Wohnraum bei ihrer Großmutter auf dem alten Hof der Familie ein. So entsteht eine kreative Wohngemeinschaft mit allen Vorteilen und Problemen die eine solche mit sich bringt. Nach kurzer Zeit werden zwei gegensätzliche Mentalitäten erkennbar: Die starre Herangehensweise der Großmutter und die angeblich offenere Natur ihrer Enkelin. Diese Gegensätze erklären sich durch die verschiedenen Lebenserfahrungen in Bezug auf die Arbeit und die Verhältnisse von Frauen, trotz der gleichen menschlichen Bedürfnisse.

Die wahren Protagonisten des Films sind neben den Frauen die Aktionen und Rituale die ihrem Tag Struktur verleihen. Der Film ist in vier Kapitel unterteilt, gezeichnet durch den Rhythmus der täglichen Aktivitäten – Unterhaltungen in der Küche, das gemeinsame Essen, Diskussionen darüber, dass wieder neue Blumen auf das Grab des Großvaters gelegt werden sollten. Livre d’heures ist ein Film über intergenerationelle Unterschiede, über Identität und die gegenseitige Abhängigkeit zweier Frauen und ihre jeweilige Abhängigkeit von der Zeit.

Vorstellungen
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Yvonne Noesen-Ries, Suzan Noesen, Alina Faber, Yannis Meys
Drehbuch 
Suzan Noesen
Kamera 
Oliver Waldbillig
Montage 
Pia Dumont
Directeur de la photo 
Amandine Klee
Ton 
Bruno Schweisguth
Szenerie 
Michèle Tonteling
Musik 
Georges Goerens, Nuria Bonet, Suzan Noesen
Produktion 
Suzan Noesen
Verleih 
Suzan Noesen
Biografie

Seit 2011 arbeitet Suzan Noesen als multidisziplinäre Künstlerin und Autorin, zuerst in Berlin und Leipzig, bis dass sie nach Luxemburg zurückkehrte. Ihre künstlerische Tätigkeit drückt sich mittels Zeichentechniken, der Malerei, dem Singen, Texten, Fotografie, sowie Performance- und Installationskunst aus. Zwischen 2007 und 2017 konzipierte und organisierte sie eine Serie an kollektiven Ausstellungen.

Filmografie
  • 2018 – Livre d‘heures (Kurzfilm)