Programme

OLD BOYS

Toby MacDonald

United Kingdom, Sweden, 2018 / 95 min / English OV with French & German subt. / Comedy

European Film Academy – Young Audience Award 2019

In this school-set re-working of Cyrano de Bergerac, an awkward but imaginative pupil helps the handsome but spectacularly dim school-hero pursue the daughter of a visiting French teacher.

‘Survival of the fittest’ is the philosophy at all boys boarding school Caldermount. If you’re not a champion on the sports field, you’re a nobody. No one knows this better than bookworm Amberson, who’s been at the bottom of the school’s social ladder since he can remember. When the new French teacher’s fiery daughter Agnes arrives, Amberson’s life is turned upside down. He suddenly finds himself playing matchmaker for Winchester, the school’s handsome but spectacularly dim school-hero in dire need of romantic assistance. Winchester definitely has the looks to win over Agnes but it’s Amberson who has the wits. But as Amberson himself falls for Agnes, will he have the courage to reveal himself to her and stand up for whom he really is?

Screenings
Sun 05/05 14:00 Cinémathèque EN OV with FR & DE subt. - FREE ENTRY Public

“Taking inspiration from the story of Cyrano de Bergerac, but unfolding against the quintessentially British backdrop of an all-boys boarding school, the feature debut from director Toby MacDonald is a gently eccentric charmer of a film. […] sharp writing […] offers a distinctive take on the somewhat overcrowded field of boarding school-set fiction films. Tonally, it’s closest to the appealingly sweet-natured romance of something like Gregory’s Girl; but there’s a skewering of the absurdity of public school rituals which borders, at times, on the Pythonesque.” Wendy Ide, ScreenDaily, 22/06/2018

“under the surface, Old Boys examines the toxic masculinity of boarding schools in all its futility: those places will not make men of boys; they will leave grown men permanently locked in a boy’s state of mind.” Marko Stojiljković, Cineuropa, 20/11/2018

+12
Awards
  • Audience Award – Best Film, Dinard British Film Festival, 2018 (France)
  • Univerciné Jury Prize, Festival Univerciné Britannique, 2018 (France)
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Alex Lawther, Jonah Hauer-King, Pauline Etienne, Joshua McGuire, Denis Ménochet
Screenplay 
Luke Ponte, Freddy Syborn
Cinematographer 
Nanu Segal
Sound 
Christian Holm
Set 
Max Bellhouse
Music 
Andrew Hewitt
Production 
Film4, Momac Films
Distribution 
WestEnd Films
Biography

Toby MacDonald is a British director who began his career with the very successful, BAFTA-nominated short film Je t'aime John Wayne (2000) which won the TCM prize for Best Short at the London International Film Festival, and screened at numerous festivals including Cannes and Berlin. After his next short Mexicano (2002), he directed the critically acclaimed follow-up Heavy Metal Drummer (2005) which was also nominated for a BAFTA. Strong on characters and casting, with a distinctive photographic look, Toby has directed commercials for brands including French Connection, Lotto, Samsung, M&S, and BT, and as well as the My Life in Film (2004) TV series. Old Boys (2018) is his first feature film.

Filmography
  • 2018 – Old Boys
  • 2005 – Heavy Metal Drummer (short)
  • 2004 – My Life in Film (6 episodes of the TV series)
  • 2002 – Mexicano (short)
  • 2001 – Table 12 (2 episodes of the TV series)
  • 2000 – Je t’aime John Wayne (short)

Programm

OLD BOYS

Toby MacDonald

Vereinigtes Königreich, Schweden, 2018 / 95 min / Englische Originalfassung mit französischen und deutschen Untertiteln / Comedy

European Film Academy – Young Audience Award 2019

In dieser Neuinterpretation von Cyrano de Bergerac hilft ein unbeholfener aber einfallsreicher Schüler dem etwas dümmlichen Schulschönling die Tochter eines französischen Vertretungslehrers für sich zu gewinnen.

Auf dem englischen Caldermount-Internat gilt das Recht des Stärkeren: Wer nicht auf dem Sportplatz brilliert, ist ein Niemand. Wie kein anderer ist sich der unbeholfene Bücherwurm Amberson der Spielregeln der Schule bewusst, befindet er sich doch seit er denken kann am Fuß der schulischen Hierarchie. Doch als Agnes, die Tochter des neuen Französischlehrers, das Internat besucht, wendet sich Ambersons Blatt. Plötzlich findet er sich in der Rolle des Kupplers für den spektakulär begriffsstutzigen Pausenhofhelden Winchester wieder, der verzweifelt Hilfe in Liebesdingen benötigt. Winchester hat ohne Frage das Aussehen um Agnes für sich zu gewinnen, doch Amberson besitzt den nötigen Geist. Auch Ambersons Herz schlägt schon bald für Agnes, doch wird er den Mut finden, sich selbst als federführend hinter Winchesters neu entdecktem Wortwitz preiszugeben und für sich selbst einzustehen?

Vorstellungen
So 05/05 14:00 Cinémathèque EN OF mit FR & DE UT - FREIER EINTRITT Public
+12
Awards
  • Audience Award – Best Film, Dinard British Film Festival, 2018 (France)
  • Univerciné Jury Prize, Festival Univerciné Britannique, 2018 (France)
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Alex Lawther, Jonah Hauer-King, Pauline Etienne, Joshua McGuire, Denis Ménochet
Drehbuch 
Luke Ponte, Freddy Syborn
Kamera 
Nanu Segal
Ton 
Christian Holm
Szenerie 
Max Bellhouse
Musik 
Andrew Hewitt
Produktion 
Film4, Momac Films
Verleih 
WestEnd Films
Biografie

Toby MacDonald ist ein britischer Regisseur dessen Karriere mit dem erfolgreichen und für einen BAFTA nominierten Kurzfilm Je t’aime John Wayne (2000) begann. Je t’aime John Wayne gewann den TCM-Preis als bester Kurzfilm des London International Film Festival und lief auf weiteren internationalen Festivals, unter anderem in Cannes und Berlin. Nach seinem nächsten Kurzfilm Mexicano (2002), drehte er den hochgelobten Heavy Metal Drummer (2005) welcher auch eine BAFTA-Nominierung einholte. Dank seines Gefühls für Charaktere und Casting und seines unverkennbaren Kamerastils, konnte Toby Werbefilme für Marken wie French Connection, Lotto, Samsung, M&S und BT drehen, und zeigte sich für die Fernsehserie My Life in Film (2004) verantwortlich. Old Boys (2018) ist sein erster Langspielfilm.

Filmografie
  • 2018 – Old Boys
  • 2005 – Heavy Metal Drummer (Kurzfilm)
  • 2004 – My Life in Film (6 Folgen der Fernsehserie)
  • 2002 – Mexicano (Kurzfilm)
  • 2001 – Table 12 (2 Folgen der Fernsehserie)
  • 2000 – Je t’aime John Wayne (Kurzfilm)