Programme

THE WAITER

Steve Krikris

Greece, 2018 / 95 min / Greek OV with Engllish subt. (GR OV with EN subt.) / Drama, Neo-noir

Director Steve Krikris will be in attendance

A lonely waiter is catapulted into the murky world of love and murder.

Renos is a professional waiter who leads a simple and quiet life, keeping his anxieties at bay thanks to a well-rehearsed monotonous routine. Unwittingly, the loner and meticulous observer gets entangled in the mysterious disappearance of his neighbour, Milan. Two shady strangers, connected to Milan’s disappearance, turn up and take Renos on an extreme ride that challenges his sacred day-to-day routine and tests his ability and willingness to change. Relationships develop, secrets are shared and trust is challenged. Will Renos be able to follow through?

Inspired by actual events experienced by the director while living in New York City in the 1980s: “While writing this script, I was interested in creating a micro world out of all of the sensual elements of the environment I was exposed to, and focusing on seemingly minor details that I later realized played a significant role. At the same time, my intention was to add a different dimension to the script by introducing new characters that add a twist to the original story and are also interesting case studies in and of themselves.” Directors statement by Steve Krikris

 

Screenings
Fri 08/03 21:15 Ciné Utopia GR OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26790&kassi...
Sat 09/03 18:30 Ciné Utopia GR OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26794&kassi...
Sun 10/03 19:00 Cinémathèque GR OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26807&kassi...
Awards
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Greek Debut Film, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Best Location Award, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Aris Servetalis, Yannis Stankoglou, Chiara Gensini, Alexandros Mavropoulos, Antonis Miriagos, Maria Kallimani, Yorgos Glastras
Screenplay 
Steve Krikris
Cinematographer 
Yiorgos Karvelas
Sound 
Leandros Ntounis
Set 
Kostas Pappas
Music 
Coti K
Production 
Filmiki Productions
Coproduction 
ERT, 2|35
Distribution 
TVCO
Biography

Steve Krikris was born in the United States. At the age of four he moved to Greece before returning to his native Washington D.C. to study photography and experimental filmmaking at the age of 18. Thereafter, he enrolled in the Film Studies Department at the San Francisco Art Institute. After graduating, he went on to join the production company Workhorse Productions in New York City and produced MTV promos. He has directed more than 500 promotional videos and TV commercial, as well as two short films: Await (2007), which screened at the Tangier Film Festival, the Dráma Short Film Festival and the Istanbul International Film Festival, and The Card Game (2008). In 2010, he started the International Film Festival of Patmos with a group of friends. The Waiter (2018) is his first feature film.

Filmography
  • 2018 – The Waiter
  • 2011 – Crisis What Crisis (documentary short)
  • 2008 – The Card Game (short)
  • 2007 – Await (short)

Programm

THE WAITER

Steve Krikris

Griechenland, 2018 / 95 min / Griechische Originalfassung mit englischen Unteriteln (GR OF mit EN UT) / Drama, Neo-Noir

In Anwesenheit des Regisseurs Steve Krikris

Ein einsamer Kellner wird in die düstere Welt von Liebe und Mord geschleudert.

Renos ist Kellner. Er führt ein ruhiges geordnetes Leben und kontrolliert mithilfe dieser perfekt eingespielten Routine seine Ängste. Unfreiwillig wird der Einzelgänger und genaue Beobachter seiner Umwelt in das mysteriöse Verschwinden seines Nachbarn Milan verwickelt. Dieses Abenteuer bringt seinen eintönigen Alltag völlig aus dem Lot und wird ihn als Menschen fordern. Er knüpft neue Beziehungen und wird dabei in Geheimnisse eingeweiht, wobei sein Vertrauen auf die Probe gestellt wird. Wird Renos diese Extremsituation meistern?

Der Film beruht auf wahren Tatsachen, die der Regisseur selbst erlebt hatte, als er in den 1980er-Jahren in New York lebte: « Als ich dieses Skript geschrieben habe, wollte ich einen Mikrokosmos schaffen, der aus allen sinnlich wahrnehmbaren Elementen meiner Umgebung bestand. Dafür konzentrierte ich mich auf winzige Details, die – wie sich später herausstellen sollte – eine bedeutende Rolle spielten. Parallel dazu beabsichtigte ich, dem Skript eine neue Dimension zu verleihen, indem ich neue Figuren hinzufügte und so der Originalgeschichte einen neuen Anstrich verpasste. Dabei entstanden weitere interessante Charakterstudien. » Absichtserklärung des Regisseurs Steve Krikris

 

Vorstellungen
Awards
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Greek Debut Film, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Best Location Award, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Aris Servetalis, Yannis Stankoglou, Chiara Gensini, Alexandros Mavropoulos, Antonis Miriagos, Maria Kallimani, Yorgos Glastras
Drehbuch 
Steve Krikris
Kamera 
Yiorgos Karvelas
Ton 
Leandros Ntounis
Szenerie 
Kostas Pappas
Musik 
Coti K
Produktion 
Filmiki Productions
Koproduktion 
ERT, 2|35
Verleih 
TVCO
Biografie

Steve Krikris wurde in den USA geboren. Im Alter von 4 Jahren zog seine Familie nach Griechenland. Als 18-Jähriger kehrte er in seine Geburtsstadt Washington D.C. zurück, um dort Fotografie und Experimentalfilm zu studieren. Danach setzte er sein Filmstudium am San Francisco Art Institute fort und erhielt dort sein Diplom. Er arbeitete für die Produktionsfirma Workhorse Productions in New York und produzierte Werbefilme für MTV. Er realisierte über 500 Werbevideos und zwei Kurzfilme: Await (2007), der auf dem Filmfestival von Tanger, auf dem Internationalen Kurzfilmfestival in Dráma und auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival in Istanbul gezeigt wird, sowie The Card Game (2008). 2010 gründete er mit Freunden das Internationale Filmfestival von Patmos. The Waiter (2018) ist sein erster Langfilm.

Filmografie
  • 2018 – The Waiter
  • 2011 – Crisis What Crisis (Dokumentarkurzfilm)
  • 2008 – The Card Game (Kurzfilm)
  • 2007 – Await (Kurzfilm)