Programme

THE BITTER WITH THE SWEET

Ann Sophie Lindström

Germany, 2018 / 24 min / English OV with German subt. (EN OV with DE subt.) / Documentary short

Showcase: Shorts Made In/With Luxembourg

A love story which verges on madness, focusing on an elderly couple trying to grow old together.

Cowboy Ricky, 62, and Gretchen, 55, have been dating since 2008. Marked by injuries from their pasts, their relationship is an emotional rollercoaster ride between dependence and love. Nevertheless, Ricky and Gretchen try to grow old together as they cannot master the harsh everyday life in North Philadelphia without each other.

This intimate documentary takes the viewer on a wild emotional ride from personal resentment to deep love, from tender moments to total rage that forces the viewer to think about their own relationships, triggers and emotions.

 

Screenings
Mon 11/03 18:30 Kinepolis Kirchberg Projection privée https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26810&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Richard Whiten, Gretchen Hall Kennedy
Screenplay 
Ann Sophie Lindström
Cinematographer 
Ann Sophie Lindström
Sound 
Ann Sophie Lindström
Music 
Soundtaxi © Vladimir Volchenko, Wild West Western
Production 
Ann Sophie Lindström, Uwe H. Martin, Bombay Flying Club
Biography

Ann Sophie Lindström, born in 1984 in Luxembourg, studied photojournalism and documentary photography in Hanover, Germany. She became a mentee at the Bombay Flying Club in 2014 and was promoted as a full member in 2018. Besides working as an independent photographer and visual storyteller, Lindström teaches photography at the University of Applied Sciences in Hanover. Her work establishes an intimate insight into the people and places she documents. Her stories focus on unusual communities of people who are mostly ignored in society and who create a kind of substitute family for each other. She documented the life of a group of punks trying to survive in a capitalistic urban jungle in her series Punk ist kein Kaffeekränzchen, the African- American urban horsemen community in a high-crime neighbourhood of North Philadelphia in Don’t Fence Me In (2014). Her current film The Bitter with the Sweet (2018) is a love story which verges on madness, focusing on an elderly couple that tries to grow old together. Her projects have been supported through grants from Centre national de l´audiovisuel in Luxembourg, Œuvre Nationale de Secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte and Stiftung Kulturwerk der VG Bild-Kunst. In 2018, Lindström is named 6x6 Global Talent Europe by World Press Photo and awarded the German Short Film Award (Golden Lola).

Filmography
  • 2018 – The Bitter with the Sweet (documentary short)
  • 2014 – Don’ Fence Me In (documentary short)

Programmation

THE BITTER WITH THE SWEET

Ann Sophie Lindström

Allemagne, 2018 / 24 min / Vo anglaise avec sst. allemands (VO ANG avec sst. ALL) / court-métrage documentaire

Showcase: Shorts Made In/With Luxembourg

Une histoire d'amour flirtant avec la folie entre un couple âgé qui essaie, tant bien que mal, de vieillir ensemble.

Le cow-boy Ricky, 62 ans, et la sulfureuse Gretchen, 55 ans, se fréquentent depuis 2008. Marquée par les blessures du passé, leur relation est un véritable tour de force émotionnel oscillant entre dépendance et amour. Néanmoins, Ricky et Gretchen essaient de vieillir ensemble, parce qu'ils ne peuvent seuls faire face à une vie quotidienne amère au Nord de Philadelphie.

Le documentaire particulièrement intime emmène les spectateurs dans un voyage émotionnel allant de moments d'une tendre beauté à une rage totale. Il les invite à réfléchir à leurs propres relations, réactions et émotions.

 

Séances
lun 11/03 18:30 Kinepolis Kirchberg Projection privée https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26810&kassi...
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Richard Whiten, Gretchen Hall Kennedy
Scénario  
Ann Sophie Lindström
Image 
Ann Sophie Lindström
Son 
Ann Sophie Lindström
Musique 
Soundtaxi © Vladimir Volchenko, Wild West Western
Production 
Ann Sophie Lindström, Uwe H. Martin, Bombay Flying Club
Biographie du réalisateur

Ann Sophie Lindström, née en 1984 au Luxembourg, étudie photojournalisme et photographie documentaire à Hanovre en Allemagne. Elle est d’abord initiée au Bombay Flying Club en 2014 avant d’être promue membre à part entière en 2018. Ann Sophie Lindström enseigne également la photographie à l'Université des Sciences Appliquées de Hanovre, en Allemagne. Son travail explore l’intimité entre les personnes et les lieux qu'elle documente. Ses histoires se concentrent principalement sur des communautés de personnes en marge de la société reconstituant le plus souvent une sorte de famille de substitution. Dans sa série Punk ist kein Kaffeekränzchen, elle a ainsi documenté la vie d'un groupe de punks et leur mode de survie au cœur de la jungle urbaine capitaliste, puis avec le projet Don’t Fence Me In, elle s’est interessée à l'African American Urban Horsemen Community dans un quartier particulièrement difficile du nord de Philadelphie. Sa dernière réalisation est The Bitter with the Sweet (2018). Ses projets ont été soutenus par des bourses du Centre national de l’audiovisuel au Luxembourg, de l'Œuvre Nationale de Secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte et de la Stiftung Kulturwerk der VG Bild-Kunst. En 2018, Ann Sophie Lindström est élue 6x6 Global Talent Europe by World Press Photo et obtient le prix du court-métrage allemand (Lola d’or).

Filmographie
  • 2018 – The Bitter with the Sweet (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2014 – Don’ Fence Me In (court-métrage documentaire)
THE BITTER WITH THE SWEET | Luxembourg City Film Festival

Erreur

Le site Web a rencontré une erreur inattendue. Veuillez essayer de nouveau plus tard.