Programme

The Crystal reef interactive

Lauren Knapp / Cody Karutz

USA, 2016 / min / English OV / VR Experience

A rocky reef off the coast of Italy demonstrates the future of climate change. 

A rocky reef off the coast of Italy, “The Crystal Reef”, demonstrates the future of climate change. The film takes the audience on a dive with Dr. Fiorenza Micheli to learn about ocean acidification and how human-produced carbon dioxide will turn all the world’s oceans into “the ocean moonscape.” The user takes the perspective of a marine scientist and conducts a population survey underwater by using hand controllers to swim through a digital replica of the reefs of Italy.

 

"The Crystal Reef" is a story that aims to popularise the marine sciences and raise consciousness to the complexity of climate change and ocean acidification. Viewers are brought down underwater using virtual reality and are presented with a visual metaphor of what the oceans will look like in a future affected by climate change.

 

Afterwards, viewers can follow up with “The Crystal Reef: Interactive”, a companion piece to the 360-degree video. By using the completely immersive HTC Vive, users can experience content presented in the first piece but in a more interactive and dynamic way.

 

“The Crystal Reef” is a pioneering collaboration between Stanford University and the Hopkins Marine Station under funded research from The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation and the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.

 

 

Screening dates: From 2nd to 12th March 2017

Opening Hours:

  • Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday: 11am – 7pm.
  • Thursday: 11am – 11pm.
  • Closed on Tuesdays

Venue: ground floor of the Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’Art Contemporain

Free admission to the ground floor of the Casino Luxembourg with access to the “BlackBox” exhibition room, the “Aquarium” and the ca(fé)sino. Free Night every Thursday from 6pm to 11pm.

 

Screenings
Mon 06/02 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Sun 12/02 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Thu 02/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 11pm Public
Fri 03/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Sat 04/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Sun 05/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Wed 08/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Thu 09/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 11pm Public
Fri 10/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public
Sat 11/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg from 11am to 7pm Public

“You can almost feel the bubbles tickling you as they rise from the corals, and I have a powerful urge to reach out and touch the fish as they swim by” Alice Bonasio, Newsweek, 12/05/2016

 

“What if you had a crystal ball, and that crystal ball showed you exactly what the oceans and the world would look like in a future affected by climate change?” Cody Karutz, Newsweek, 12/05/2016

Cast & Credits
Cinematographer 
Cody Karutz
Production 
Lauren Knapp / Cody Karutz / Jeremy Bailenson
Distribution 
Stanford University, Cody Karutz
Biography

Cody Karutz has over a decade of virtual reality content design experience. Currently finishing his MS in Symbolic Systems at Stanford University, Cody works at the intersections of conservation psychology, informal education, and computer science.

Lauren Knapp is a non-fiction storyteller who works across platforms to share true and compelling stories. She recently won the “Emerging Director of a Documentary Feature” award for her feature length documentary “Live from UB” from the Asian American International Film Festival.

Programmation

The Crystal reef interactive

Lauren Knapp / Cody Karutz

Etats-Unis, 2016 / min / VO Anglaise / Animation VR

Une plongée dans les fonds marins mis en péril par le réchauffement climatique.

L’expérience immersive à travers les récifs coralliens au large de la côte italienne « The Crystal Reef » montre l’impact des émissions de carbone sur la vie marine. En plongée avec le Dr. Fiorenza Micheli, une spécialiste des fonds marins, le spectateur se place dans la peau d’un scientifique face au changement climatique. Il réalise des relevés marins grâces aux contrôleurs de réalité virtuelle et découvre de quelle façon le réchauffement climatique affecte les fonds marins qui risquent de devenir de véritables « paysages lunaires » sans vies.

 

« The Crystal Reef » a pour but de vulgariser les sciences marines et d’éveiller les consciences à la complexité du changement climatique et l’acidification des océans. Le documentaire place le spectateur à la fois sous l’eau et face à des animations illustrant le devenir catastrophique des fonds marins si rien n’est fait.

 

Les visiteurs peuvent poursuivre l’expérience dans « The Crystal Reef: Interactive », un prolongement du documentaire en réalité virtuelle. Grâce à la technologie immersive du HTC Vive ils peuvent ainsi prolonger l’expérience d’une manière plus immersive et interactive

 

Collaboration entre Stanford University et Hopkins Marine Station, soutenue financièrement par The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation et Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.

 

Dates projections : Du 2 au 12 mars 2017

Horaires :
Lundi, mercredi, vendredi, samedi, dimanche : 11h00 - 19h00.
Jeudi : 11h00 - 23h00.
Fermé le mardi

Lieux : au rez-de-chaussée du Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’Art Contemporain

Entrée gratuite au rez-de-chaussée du Casino Luxembourg avec accès à la salle d'exposition BlackBox, à l' "Aquarium" et au ca(fé)sino. Nocturne gratuite tous les jeudis de 18h00 à 23h00.

Séances
lun 06/02 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
dim 12/02 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
jeu 02/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
sam 04/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
dim 05/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
mer 08/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
jeu 09/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 23h00 Public
ven 10/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h à 19h00 Public
sam 11/03 11:00 Casino Luxembourg de 11h00 à 19h00 Public
Cast & Crédits
Image 
Cody Karutz
Production 
Lauren Knapp / Cody Karutz / Jeremy Bailenson
Distribution 
Stanford University, Cody Karutz
Biographie du réalisateur

Cody Karutz a plus de dix ans d’expérience dans le monde de la réalité virtuelle. « The Crystal Reef » a été élaboré dans le cadre de son master en « Symbolic Systems » à l’université de Stanford. Cody allie dans son travail psychologie écologique, apprentissage informel et sciences informatiques.

Lauren Knapp travaille dans l’art multimédia documentaire dans le but de partager des histoires vraies et percutantes. Elle vient de remporter le prix du meilleur premier film au Festival d’Asie et d’Amérique de New York pour son documentaire « Live From UB ».