Programme

THE WAITER

Steve Krikris

Greece, 2018 / 95 min / Greek OV with Engllish subt. (GR OV with EN subt.) / Drama, Neo-noir

Director Steve Krikris will be in attendance

A lonely waiter is catapulted into the murky world of love and murder.

Renos is a professional waiter who leads a simple and quiet life, keeping his anxieties at bay thanks to a well-rehearsed monotonous routine. Unwittingly, the loner and meticulous observer gets entangled in the mysterious disappearance of his neighbour, Milan. Two shady strangers, connected to Milan’s disappearance, turn up and take Renos on an extreme ride that challenges his sacred day-to-day routine and tests his ability and willingness to change. Relationships develop, secrets are shared and trust is challenged. Will Renos be able to follow through?

Inspired by actual events experienced by the director while living in New York City in the 1980s: “While writing this script, I was interested in creating a micro world out of all of the sensual elements of the environment I was exposed to, and focusing on seemingly minor details that I later realized played a significant role. At the same time, my intention was to add a different dimension to the script by introducing new characters that add a twist to the original story and are also interesting case studies in and of themselves.” Directors statement by Steve Krikris

 

Screenings
Fri 08/03 21:15 Ciné Utopia GR OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26790&kassi...
Sat 09/03 18:30 Ciné Utopia GR OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26794&kassi...
Sun 10/03 19:00 Cinémathèque GR OV with EN subt. Public https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26807&kassi...
Awards
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Greek Debut Film, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Best Location Award, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Aris Servetalis, Yannis Stankoglou, Chiara Gensini, Alexandros Mavropoulos, Antonis Miriagos, Maria Kallimani, Yorgos Glastras
Screenplay 
Steve Krikris
Cinematographer 
Yiorgos Karvelas
Sound 
Leandros Ntounis
Set 
Kostas Pappas
Music 
Coti K
Production 
Filmiki Productions
Coproduction 
ERT, 2|35
Distribution 
TVCO
Biography

Steve Krikris was born in the United States. At the age of four he moved to Greece before returning to his native Washington D.C. to study photography and experimental filmmaking at the age of 18. Thereafter, he enrolled in the Film Studies Department at the San Francisco Art Institute. After graduating, he went on to join the production company Workhorse Productions in New York City and produced MTV promos. He has directed more than 500 promotional videos and TV commercial, as well as two short films: Await (2007), which screened at the Tangier Film Festival, the Dráma Short Film Festival and the Istanbul International Film Festival, and The Card Game (2008). In 2010, he started the International Film Festival of Patmos with a group of friends. The Waiter (2018) is his first feature film.

Filmography
  • 2018 – The Waiter
  • 2011 – Crisis What Crisis (documentary short)
  • 2008 – The Card Game (short)
  • 2007 – Await (short)

Programmation

THE WAITER

Steve Krikris

Grèce, 2018 / 95 min / VO grecque avec sst. anglais (VO GR avec sst. ANG) / drame, film noir

En présence du réalisateur Steve Krikris

Des événements inattendus vont bouleverser la vie bien rangée d’un serveur minutieux.

Renos est un serveur menant une vie bien rangée et tranquille. Solitaire et observateur, il maîtrise ses angoisses grâce à cette routine parfaitement ordonnée. Sans le vouloir, Renos se retrouve mêlé à la mystérieuse disparition de son voisin Milan. Il plongera alors au cœur d’une aventure qui bouleversera son quotidien monotone et le mettra à l’épreuve en tant qu’homme. Des relations se développeront, des secrets seront partagés et la confiance sera mise en doute. Renos sera-t-il capable de suivre ?

Inspiré de faits réels que le réalisateur a vécu alors qu’il vivait à New York dans les années 1980 : « Quand j’ai écrit ce script, je voulais créer un micro univers constitué de tous les événements sensuels qui m’entouraient, me concentrant sur des petits détails qui – ce que j’ai réalisé plus tard – ont joué un rôle significatif. Parallèlement, mon intention était d’ajouter une nouvelle dimension au script en introduisant des nouveaux caractères donnant un aspect inédit à l’histoire originale et qui deviendraient eux-mêmes des études de cas intéressants. » Note d’intention du réalisateur Steve Krikris

 

Séances
Récompenses
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Greek Debut Film, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
  • Greek Film Centre Award – Best Location Award, Thessaloniki International Film Festival, 2018 (Greece)
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Aris Servetalis, Yannis Stankoglou, Chiara Gensini, Alexandros Mavropoulos, Antonis Miriagos, Maria Kallimani, Yorgos Glastras
Scénario  
Steve Krikris
Image 
Yiorgos Karvelas
Son 
Leandros Ntounis
Décors 
Kostas Pappas
Musique 
Coti K
Production 
Filmiki Productions
Coproduction 
ERT, 2|35
Distribution 
TVCO
Biographie du réalisateur

Steve Krikris est né aux États-Unis. À l’âge de 4 ans, il déménage en Grèce, avant de retourner à Washington D.C., sa ville natale, pour étudier la photographie et la cinématographie expérimentale à l’âge de 18 ans. Plus tard, il intègre le San Francisco Art Institute et y poursuit ses études en cinéma. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, il rejoint la compagnie de production Workhorse Productions à New York et produit des films promotionnels pour MTV. Il réalise plus de 500 vidéos promotionnelles et deux courts-métrages : Await (2007), programmé au Festival du Film de Tanger, au Festival international du court-métrage de Dráma et au Festival International du Film d’Istanbul, et The Card Game (2008). En 2010, il crée le Festival International du Film de Patmos avec ses copains. The Waiter (2018) est son premier long-métrage.

Filmographie
  • 2018 – The Waiter
  • 2011 – Crisis What Crisis (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2008 – The Card Game (court-métrage)
  • 2007 – Await (court-métrage)