Programme

LES FILMS ET LA MÉMOIRE : IMAGES ALLIÉES DES CAMPS NAZIS

 

 

With:
Gian Maria Tore (semiologist specialising in film analysis, uni.lu)
Christoph Brüll (historian, uni.lu)
Language: French
Duration: 120’
Venue: Cinémathèque de la Ville de Luxembourg

 

Part of the International Holocaust Remembrance Day 2021

At the end of the Second World War, the Nuremberg trials rang in a new era: that of the prosecution of “crimes against humanity", but also that of the use of images as "evidence". The screening of films of camps’ liberation during the hearings at Nuremberg was a revolutionary moment of crucial importance. These films, shot and edited by the Soviets, the British and above all the Americans – with contributions by Hollywood’s finest – are nowadays considered essential viewing. In reality, they are often more heard of than actually seen, most of them had even literally disappeared for decades.

 What problems do they raise when unearthed and when watched today? What views, what gestures –cinematographic as well as political – are conveyed by these “authentic” images of the discovery of the camps’ horrors? How do these films contribute to the construction of the memory of the genocide, even today?

The conference will be accompanied by a screening of the film Death Mills (1945) by Hanuš Burger and Billy Wilder. Several excerpts from the other films documenting the liberation of the camps will also be shown during the evening.

Opening hours

What's on ?

Screenings of the Father are back

Screenings of the Father postponed by one week Due to a technical issue out of our control, all screenings of The Father in last week's LuxFilmLab had to be postponed... → More

EFA Young Audience Award 2021

Call for young jurors for the 2021 online edition of the EFA Young Audience Award! From 21st to 25th April 2021 , for the sixth year in a row, on... → More

LuxFilmLab #6 - The Father

Three screens, one special evening event with Florian Zeller's The Father . On 7th April , LuxFilmLab will be back at Ciné Utopia to launch its 2021 season with a... → More

Programm

LES FILMS ET LA MÉMOIRE : IMAGES ALLIÉES DES CAMPS NAZIS

 

Mit:
Gian Maria Tore (auf Filmanalyse spezialisierter Semiologe, uni.lu)
Christoph Brüll (Historiker, uni.lu)

Sprache: Französisch
Dauer: 120‘
Ort: Cinémathèque de la Ville de Luxembourg

 

Im Rahmen des Internationalen Gedenktages an die Opfer des Holocaust 2021

Am Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs eröffnete der Nürnberger Prozess eine neue Ära: die der Verfolgung von "Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit", aber auch die der Verwendung von Bildern als "Beweismittel". Die Vorführung von Filmen über die Befreiung der nationalsozialistischen Lager während der Anhörungen in Nürnberg war ein revolutionäres und grundlegendes Moment. Diese Filme, die von den Sowjets, den Briten und vor allem von den Amerikanern – welche das ganze Talent Hollywoods auffuhren – gedreht und geschnitten wurden, gelten heute als Standard des Dokumentarfilms. In Wirklichkeit sind sie oft besser bekannt, als dass sie tatsächlich gesehen werden, die meisten von ihnen waren sogar jahrzehntelang buchstäblich verschwunden.

Welche Probleme werfen diese Bilder also für uns auf, die wir sie heute ausgraben und neu betrachten? Welche Blicke, welche Gesten – sowohl filmische als auch politische – liegen den "authentischen" Bildern von der Entdeckung der Schrecken der Lager zugrunde? Wie tragen diese Filme auch heute noch zu der Konstruktion der Erinnerung an den Völkermord bei?

Die Konferenz wird von einer Vorführung des Films Death Mills (1945) von Hanuš Burger und Billy Wilder begleitet. Im Laufe des Abends werden auch zusätzliche Ausschnitte aus Filmen welche die Befreiung der Lager dokumentieren gezeigt.

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

What's on ?

Vorstellungen von "The Father" verschoben

Vorstellungen von "The Father" um eine Stunde verschoben Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund eines technischen Problems, auf das wir keinen Einfluss haben, alle Vorstellungen von The Father im Rahmen des... → More

EFA Young Audience Award 2021

Aufruf für junge Jurymitglieder für die Online-Ausgabe des EFA Young Audience Award 2021! Vom 21. bis zum 25. April 2021 nimmt das Luxembourg City Film Festival erneut an dem von... → More

LuxFilmLab #6 - The Father

Drei Kinosäle für einen Abend mit Florian Zellers The Father . Am 7. April wird das LuxFilmLab ins Ciné Utopia zurückkehren um seine Saison 2021 einzuleiten. Dieser erste LuxFilmLab-Abend dieses... → More