Programme

Masterclass Mike Leigh

With: Mike Leigh
Moderator: Michel Ciment
Language: English, French
Duration: 90'
Venue: Cinémathèque

Living legend of European social realism, English director Mike Leigh will join our masterclass line-up on 16th March at 14:00 at the Cinémathèque. Spend an extraordinary afternoon with the famed director and Cannes-regular discussing his work with Michel Ciment, author, film critic and editor of French film magazine Positif.

Awarded a Golden Leopard in Locarno for his first feature film, Bleak Moments (1971), Mike Leigh waited 17 years before returning to his trademark social satire with High Hopes (1988). Shooting to fame with Naked (1993), Leigh was welcomed to the Croisette on multiple occasions, most notably winning Best Director for his iconic Secrets and Lies (1996). From Another Year (2010) to Mr. Turner (2014), his filmography – and his LuxFilmFest appearance – is a true treat for cinema fans.

 

LuxFilmFest is screening four films as part of Mike Leigh's retrospective: 

  • Peterloo (2018) by Mike Leigh (17/03, 15:30, Cinémathèque)
  • Mr Turner (2014) by Mike Leigh (15/03, 16:00, Ciné Utopia)
  • Another Year (2010) by Mike Leigh (12/03, 16:15, Ciné Utopia)
  • Naked (1993) by Mike Leigh (15/03, 14:00, Cinémathèque)
Opening hours

What's on ?

Non-Festival School Screenings

In May 2019, in collaboration with the Ministère de l'éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse, ainsi que le SCRIPT, Luxembourg City Film Festival organises several school screenings as... → More

Young Audience Film Day 2019

On 5th May 2019 , for the fourth consecutive year, Luxembourg City Film Festival will take part in the YOUNG AUDIENCE FILM DAY organised by the “European Film Academy”. In... → More

Paving the way for 2020

The Festival team would like to sincerely thank all its spectators, partners and sponsors, guests, journalists, volunteers, etc. for taking part in and contributing to this year's Festival and is... → More

Programm

Masterclass Mike Leigh

Mit: Mike Leigh
Moderator: Michel Ciment
Sprache: Englisch, Französisch
Dauer: 90'
Ort: Cinémathèque

Am 16. März um 14:00 Uhr stößt der englische Regisseur Mike Leigh, eine lebende Legende des New British Cinema, in der Cinémathèque zu unserer langen Reihe an Masterclasses. Der von der Kritik hochgelobte Regisseur und regelmäßiger Teilnehmer der Filmfestspiele von Cannes wird an diesem Nachmittag sein Werk und filmisches Schaffen mit Michel Ciment, Autor, Filmkritiker und Chefredakteur des französischen Filmmagazins Positif, besprechen.

Nachdem er einen Goldenen Leoparden in Locarno für seinen ersten Langspielfilm Freudlose Augenblicke (Bleak Moments, 1971) erhielt, dauerte es 17 Jahre bis dass Mike Leigh mit Hohe Erwartungen (High Hopes, 1988) zu der für ihn charakteristischen Sozialsatire zurückkehrte. Einem breiten Publikum wurde er 1993 mit Nackt (Naked, 1993) bekannt. Seither ist er regelmäßiger Gast auf der Croisette, wo er auch den Preis für den besten Regisseur für Lügen und Geheimnisse (Secrets & Lies, 1996) gewann. Von Another Year (2010) bis zu Mr. Turner - Meister des Lichts (Mr. Turner, 2014) - sein Werk ist eine wahre Freude für Filmliebhaber, welche sich auch diese Masterclass auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen sollten.

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

What's on ?

Schulvorstellungen | November 2019

Bereits zum zweiten Mal organisiert das Luxembourg City Film Festival im November 2019 mehrere spezielle Schulvorstellungen außerhalb des regulären Festivalprogramms , in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ministère de l'éducation nationale, de... → More

Auf dem Weg zu 2020

Das Festivalteam möchte all seinen Zuschauern, Partnern und Sponsoren, Gästen, Journalisten, Freiwilligen usw. seinen aufrichtigen Dank aussprechen da ohne sie das diesjährige Festival nicht zum Erfolg hätte werden können. Wir... → More

CINÉ-CONCERT : CURIEUSE NATURE / DROLEG NATUR

Erste Veranstaltung des LuxFilmFest 2020! Anlässlich der 10. Ausgabe des Luxembourg City Film Festival (5.-15. März 2020) haben sich die Rotondes und das Festival zusammengetan, um ihrem jungen Publikum ein... → More