Programme

The Challenge (Al tahaddi)

Yuri Ancarani

France, Italy, 2016 / 69 min / Arabic OV with French and English subtitles / Documentary

An extravagant weekend in the desert.

Falconry has a history that stretches back over 40 centuries. In the West, it was a prevailing passion of the medieval aristocracy, but its prestige continues undiminished in contemporary Arab culture. Three years of observing this form of hunting in the field have made it possible to capture the spirit of a tradition that today allows its practitioners to keep a close relationship with the desert, despite their predominantly urban lifestyle. Our guide to their world is a falconer taking his birds to compete in a tournament in Qatar. In the glaring light of an empty landscape the film recounts a strange kind of “desert weekend”, showcasing furtive microcosms marked by the flight of the falcons. 

Among SUVs, Lamborghinis, private jets and Mad Max-like dune bashing contests, the film tells the story of an intense weekend in the desert.

Organised by Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'Art Contemporain in partnership with the Luxembourg City Film Festival. Introduction and commentary by Emanuela Mazzonis, curator.

 

The screening of “The Challenge” is going to be preceded by Yuri Ancarani’s short “San Siro”.

“San Siro” functions as an epic experimental anatomy of a stadium, a humorous take on Milan’s mythic football temple. Ancarani makes his audience discover everything about Italy’s biggest football stadium except football! Cable men, labourers, policemen, stewards, gardeners, TV technicians and supporters are all part of an elaborate backstage choreography essential to the game. Playfully using sounds, shapes and light a hypnotic still life is drawn that conveys the powerful atmosphere of mass sport events.

Length: 26 minutes
Click here for "San Siro"'s trailer.

Screenings
Mon 06/03 18:30 Ciné Utopia OV with FR & EN SUBT Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
+16
Awards
  • Special Jury Prize Ciné+, 69th Locarno Film Festival 2016 (Italy)
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Khaled Al-Kaja, Nasser Al-Kaabi, Soul Riders Qatar, Khaled Al-Hammadi, Osama Yacoub
Screenplay 
Yuri Ancarani
Cinematographer 
Yuri Ancarani, Luca Nervegna, Jonathan Ricquebourg
Sound 
Mirco Mencacci
Music 
Lorenzo Senni, Francesco Fantini
Production 
La Bête
Coproduction 
Ring Film, Atopic
Distribution 
Slingshot Films
Biography

Born in Ravenna in 1972, Yuri Ancarani is an Italian visual artist. In his work as a video artist and filmmaker, he is continuously mingling documentary cinema and contemporary art. His latest five short films have been shown and awarded in more than a hundred international festivals and in the most important museums of the world (Biennale Venice, Guggenheim Museum New York). “The Challenge” is his first feature documentary. 

Filmography
  • 2016 - The Challenge (documentary)
  • 2014 - San Siro (documentary short)
  • 2012 - Da Vinci (documentary short)
  • 2011 - Piattaforma (documentary short)
  • 2010 - Il Capo ((documentary short)

Programm

The Challenge (Al tahaddi)

Yuri Ancarani

Frankreich, Italien, 2016 / 69 min / Arabische Originalfassung mit französischen und englischen Untertiteln / Dokumentarfilm

Ein extravagantes Wochenende in der Wüste.

Die Geschichte der Falknerei geht über 40 Jahrhunderte zurück. Während die weite Verbreitung dieser antiken Jagdkunst mit dem Ende des Mittelalters im Westen zurückging, ist ihre Faszination in der zeitgenössischen arabischen Kultur ungebrochen und mit einem hohen Prestige verbunden. „The Challenge“ begleitet einen Falkner der mit seinen Greifvögeln an einem Turnier in Katar teilnimmt und den Haus-Geparden im Lamborghini durch die Wüste spazieren fährt. Im gleißenden Licht einer leeren Landschaft dokumentiert der Film ein ungewöhnliches „Wüstenwochenende“ und taucht in einen gesellschaftlichen Mikrokosmos mit einem absurden Luxus-Lebensstil ein.

„The Challenge“ ist der Bericht über eine dreijährige Recherchearbeit mit dem Ziel, den Geist einer Tradition zu erfassen, die es denjenigen, die sie praktizieren, erlaubt, eine enge Beziehung zur Wüste aufrechtzuerhalten, und das trotz der heutigen städtischen Dominanz. 

Organisiert vom Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'Art Contemporain in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Luxembourg City Film Festival. Einleitung und Kommentar von Emanuela Mazzois, Ausstellungskuratorin.

 

Vor der Vorführung von „The Challenge“ wird Yuri Ancaranis Kurzfilm „San Siro“ gezeigt werden.

 „San Siro“ ist eine epische, experimentelle Analyse eines Stadions, ein humorvolles Bild von Mailands mythischem Fußballtempel. Ancarani lässt seine Zuschauer alles über Italiens größtes Fußballstadion entdecken, alles außer den Fußball selbst! Kabelträger, Arbeiter, Polizisten, Ordner, Gärtner, Fernsehtechniker und Fans sind alle Teil einer aufwändigen, für das Spiel unabdingbare Choreographie. Über den spielerischen Einsatz von Geräuschen, Formen und Licht wird ein hypnotisches Stillleben gezeichnet welches die beeindruckende Stimmung von sportlichen Massenveranstaltungen vermittelt.

Länge: 26 Minuten
Klicken Sie hier für den Trailer zu  „San Siro“.

Vorstellungen
+16
Awards
  • Special Jury Prize Ciné+, 69th Locarno Film Festival 2016 (Italy)
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Khaled Al-Kaja, Nasser Al-Kaabi, Soul Riders Qatar, Khaled Al-Hammadi, Osama Yacoub
Drehbuch 
Yuri Ancarani
Kamera 
Yuri Ancarani, Luca Nervegna, Jonathan Ricquebourg
Ton 
Mirco Mencacci
Musik 
Lorenzo Senni, Francesco Fantini
Produktion 
La Bête
Koproduktion 
Ring Film, Atopic
Verleih 
Slingshot Films
Biografie

Der italienische bildende Künstler und Filmemacher Yuri Ancarani wurde 1972 in Ravenna geboren. Er unterrichtet Videoart an den Kunsthochschulen NABA in Mailand und ABA in Ravenna. Seine Werke sind eine Mischung aus Dokumentarfilm und zeitgenössischer Kunst: er arbeitet mit traumähnlichen Bildern, die sich in Zeit und Raum entfalten dürfen. Seine Kurzfilme wurden ebenso auf internationalen Festivals als auch weltweit in den wichtigsten Museen, darunter das Guggenheim Museum in New York, gezeigt. 

Filmografie
  • 2016 - The Challenge (Dokumentarfilm)
  • 2014 - San Siro (Kurzdokumentarfilm)
  • 2012 - Da Vinci (Kurzdokumentarfilm)
  • 2011 - Piattaforma (Kurzdokumentarfilm)
  • 2010 - Il Capo (Kurzdokumentarfilm)