Programme

HERE BE DRAGONS

Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron

Luxembourg, 2018 / 15 min / English OV (EN OV) / Drama, Short

Showcase: Shorts Made In/With Luxembourg

A tale about power, the financial world, hell and its dragons.

Tara, a young businesswoman dreams of unlimited and unconditional wealth -  like the limitless riches guarded by Copia and her dragons. In order to join this circle, Tara has to abandon everything and relinquish herself to the theatre of power.

 

Screenings
Mon 11/03 18:30 Kinepolis Kirchberg Projection privée https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26810&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Jeanne Werner, Marja-Leena Junker, Gabriel Boisante, Claire Johnston
Screenplay 
Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron
Cinematographer 
Serge Benassutti
Sound 
Arnaud Mellet
Set 
Sylvia Kasel
Music 
Angelo Mangini, Kevin Muhlen
Production 
Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron
Biography

The collaborative work of Karolina Markiewicz (1976) and Pascal Piron (1981) creates links between cinema, visual arts and theatre. At the centre is the individual in a human community, oscillating between resignation and hope.

Karolina Markiewicz studied political science, philosophy and theatre. She works as a film and theatre director. Pascal Piron studied visual arts and works as an artist and director. Both have been working as teachers for teenagers and refugees for 14 years. Their cooperation began in 2013 and allowed Pascal Piron to move away from painting and look at the image from a different angle, not only with regard to the two-dimensional perspective, but also in view of time and space. For Karolina Markiewicz, it was an opportunity to focus on writing and directing. Their most recent work is a series of short films entitled Side-Effects of Reality, presented at a personal exhibition at Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in 2016, the Rencontres Internationales de Paris in 2017 and 2018 and the Argos Centre in Brussels (2017). Here Be Dragons, a carte blanche by the Film Fund Luxembourg, fits in this series. Currently, they are working on a film and an installation including a virtual reality experience: My identity is this expanse! on the resilience of children in exile.

Filmography
  • 2018 – Here Be Dragons (short)
  • 2016 – Side-Effects of Reality (series of shorts)
HERE BE DRAGONS | Luxembourg City Film Festival

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.

Programm

HERE BE DRAGONS

Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron

Luxemburg, 2018 / 15 min / Englische Originalfassung mit XXX Untertiteln (EN OF mit XXX UT) / Drama, Kurzfilm

Showcase: Shorts Made In/With Luxembourg

Eine Erzählung über Macht, die Finanzwelt, die Hölle und deren Drachen.

Tara, eine junge Geschäftsfrau, strebt nach grenzenlosem Reichtum, von Copia und ihren Drachen bewachten Geldreserven. Um diese zu erlangen, muss sie alles aufgeben, einem Bund beitreten, und ihr Schicksal dem Theater der Macht überlassen.

 

Vorstellungen
Mo 11/03 18:30 Kinepolis Kirchberg Projection privée https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26810&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Jeanne Werner, Marja-Leena Junker, Gabriel Boisante, Claire Johnston
Drehbuch 
Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron
Kamera 
Serge Benassutti
Ton 
Arnaud Mellet
Szenerie 
Sylvia Kasel
Musik 
Angelo Mangini, Kevin Muhlen
Produktion 
Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron
Biografie

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Karolina Markiewicz (1976) und Pascal Piron (1981) verbindet Kino, bildende Künste, und Theater. Im Fokus steht das Individuum in der Gesellschaft, ständig zwischen Resignation und Hoffnung schwankend.

Karolina Markiewicz studierte Politikwissenschaft, Philosophie und Theater und arbeitet als Film- und Theaterregisseurin. Pascal Piron studierte bildende Künster und arbeitet als Künstler und Reigsseur. Die beiden sind zudem seit 14 Jahren als Lehrer für Jugendliche und Flüchtlingskinder. Ihre Zusammenarbeit begann 2013 und erlaubte es Pascal Piron sich von der Malerei zu entfernen und Bilder mit einem anderen Auge zu sehen, nicht nur im Bezug zu zweidimensionalen Perspektiven, sondern auch im Raum und der Zeit. Karolina Markiewicz ergriff diese Chance um sich stärker aufs Schreiben und Regiearbeit zu konzentrieren. Ihre letzte Arbeit ist eine Kurzfilmserie namens Side-Effects of Realtiy welche 2016 anlässlich einer persönlichen Ausstellung im Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain, den Rencontres Internationales de Paris in den Jahren 2017 und 2018, und dem Argos Centre in Brüssel (2017) gezeigt wurde. Here Be Dragons, eine Carte Blanche des Film Fund Luxembourg, passt zu dieser Serie. Aktuell arbeiten sie an einem Film und einer Installation, einschließlich einer Virtual Reality Experience: My identity is this expanse! über die Widerstandsfähigkeit von Kindern im Exil.

Filmografie
  • 2018 – Here Be Dragons (Kurzfilm)
  • 2016 – Side-Effects of Reality (Kurzfilmreihe)