Programme

House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)

Rusudan Glurjidze

Georgia, Spain, Russia, Croatia, 2016 / 103 min / Georgian and Russia OV with EN subtitles / Drama, Anti-War

Families uprooted and disoriented by war.

Just after the Georgian civil war in the 1990s, a young family is taken to a forcibly abandoned mountain village in Abkhazia where they are given a house whose previous owners fled the conflict. Under the watchful eye of their neighbour who observes them through the scope of her rifle, amidst the previous inhabitants’ furniture, they attempt to start over in their new house – it never quite achieves to be a home –, a place haunted by the ghosts of past memories and lives lived. For both parties, the conflict has left deep scars that together with the uncertainties of this new, post-Soviet world function as hard to overcome barriers of distrust between the families.

In her debut film – the Georgian entry for Best Foreign Language Film at the 89th Academy Awards – director Rusudan Glurjidze tells a story inspired by her own life as a refugee of the war, hoping to return to and reconnect with her childhood home and memories ever since. Deemed “a ghost story without any ghosts” by The Hollywood Reporter, “House of Others” is a gripping family drama about a war where both sides may have laid down arms, but that nevertheless isn’t over

Screenings
Tue 07/03 18:30 Cinémathèque GE & RU OV with EN sub. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
Wed 08/03 21:30 Ciné Utopia GE & RU OV with EN sub. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
+16
Awards
  • East of the West Grand Prix – 51st Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, 2016 (Czech Republic)
  • Grand Prix – Eurasia International Film Festival, 2016 (Kazakhstan)
  • DIALOGUE Prize for Intercultural Communication – Film Festival Cottbus, 2016 (Germany)
  • Cinema Extraordinaire Award – Bergen International Film Festival, 2016 (Norway)
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Salome Demuria, Ia Sukhitashvili, Olga Dykhovichnaya, Alexander Khundadze, Malkhaz Jorbenadze, Sabina Akhmedova, Zurab Magalashvili, Ekaterine Japaridze, Sandro Khundadze, Branko Djurich
Screenplay 
Dato Chubinishvili, Rusudan Glurjidze
Cinematographer 
Gorka Gómez Andreu
Sound 
Dario Domitrovic, Dominik Krnjak, Hrvoje Simic
Set 
Gogi Mikeladze
Music 
Dusan Maksimovsky
Production 
CineTech
Coproduction 
Liga Production, Kinoskopik s.l., Embrio Production, Sarke Studio
Distribution 
Tatofilm
Biography

Rusudan Glurjidze, born 1972 in Tbilisi, Georgia, studied French at the Tbilisi State University, as well as film directing and scriptwriting at the Georgian Film and Theatre Institute. After the collapse of the Soviet Union and the subsequent demise of the Georgian film industry, she directed music clips, ads and worked for national TV. “House of Others“ is her first feature film.

Filmography
  • 2016 - House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)

Programm

House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)

Rusudan Glurjidze

Georgien, Spanien, Russland, Kroatien, 2016 / 103 min / Georgische und Russische Originalfassung mit EN Untertiteln / Drama, Antikriegsfilm

Vom Krieg entwurzelte und verwirrte Familien.

Kurz nach dem georgischen Bürgerkrieg Anfang der 1990er Jahre wird eine junge Familie in ein abchasisches Bergdorf gebracht wo ihnen ein unbewohntes Haus zugeordnet wird, dessen vorherige Bewohner während des Konflikts geflohen sind. Unter dem wachsamen Auge ihrer Nachbarin, die sie durch das Zielfernrohr ihres Gewehres beobachtet, versuchen  sie einen Neustart im neuen Haus – ein richtiges Zuhause wird es nie – inmitten der zurückgelassenen Möbel und heimgesucht von den Geistern fremder  Erinnerungen. Für beide Seiten hat der Krieg tiefe Narben hinterlassen welche zusammen mit den Unsicherheiten dieser neuen, post-sowjetischen Welt Mauern zwischen beiden Familien errichtet haben die nur schwer einzureißen sind.

In ihrem Debütfilm – die georgische Einreichung als bester fremdsprachiger Film bei den 89. Academy Awards – erzählt die Regisseurin Rusudan Glurjidze eine von ihrem eigenen Leben als Flüchtling des Georgienkrieges inspirierte Geschichte, und von der Hoffnung eines Tages ins Haus ihrer Kindheit und den damit verbundenen Erinnerungen zurückzukehren. Als „Geistergeschichte ohne Geister“ vom Hollywood Reporter beschrieben ist „Skhvisi Sakhli“ ein ergreifendes Familiendrama aus einem Krieg in dem beide Seiten zwar die Waffen niedergelegt haben, der aber noch immer nicht wirklich vorbei ist.

Vorstellungen
Di 07/03 18:30 Cinémathèque GE & RU OF mit EN Unt. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
Mi 08/03 21:30 Ciné Utopia GE & RU OF mit EN Unt. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
+16
Awards
  • East of the West Grand Prix – 51st Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, 2016 (Czech Republic)
  • Grand Prix – Eurasia International Film Festival, 2016 (Kazakhstan)
  • DIALOGUE Prize for Intercultural Communication – Film Festival Cottbus, 2016 (Germany)
  • Cinema Extraordinaire Award – Bergen International Film Festival, 2016 (Norway)
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Salome Demuria, Ia Sukhitashvili, Olga Dykhovichnaya, Alexander Khundadze, Malkhaz Jorbenadze, Sabina Akhmedova, Zurab Magalashvili, Ekaterine Japaridze, Sandro Khundadze, Branko Djurich
Drehbuch 
Dato Chubinishvili, Rusudan Glurjidze
Kamera 
Gorka Gómez Andreu
Ton 
Dario Domitrovic, Dominik Krnjak, Hrvoje Simic
Szenerie 
Gogi Mikeladze
Musik 
Dusan Maksimovsky
Produktion 
CineTech
Koproduktion 
Liga Production, Kinoskopik s.l., Embrio Production, Sarke Studio
Verleih 
Tatofilm
Biografie

Rusudan Glurjidze, 1972 in Tiflis geboren, studierte Französisch an der Staatlichen Universität Tiflis, sowie Regie und Drehbuch am Georgischen Film- und Theaterinstitut. Nachdem die georgische Filmindustrie vom Fall der Sowjetunion mitgerissen wurde, inszenierte Glurjidze Werbefilme und Musikvideos, und arbeitete für das nationale Fernsehen. « House of Others » ist ihr erster Spielfilm.

Filmografie
  • 2016 - House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)