Programme

Storm (Storm - Letters van vuur)

Dennis Bots

Netherlands , 2017 / 97 min / German version / Historical Drama, Adventure

Premiere
In the presence of the film’s crew.

In a world set afire, one boy has the key to freedom.

Set in 1512, Letter of Fire tells the story of Storm, the twelve-year-old son of an Antwerp printer, Klaas Voeten, who secretly prints banned texts. When Klaas decides to print a forbidden letter that could stop the corruption in the city, he is caught and arrested. Storm manages to escape with the original letter.  He is outlawed and becomes the centre of a manhunt led by the new Inquisitor. Aided by the orphan Marieke, Storm escapes into the city sewers and finds himself in a race against time to rescue his father from burning at the stake. But whom can he trust in a world fallen into religious fanaticism?

The central theme of the film is free speech, more relevant than ever today with the rise of social media. The Inquisition, the stake and the early days of the printing press are complex themes for children that Dennis Bots manages to convey easily by using Storm as a hero with relatable motives.

 

Producers Nicolas Steil and Harro van Staverden, as well as the director Dennis Bots are going to be present for the premiere of "Storm" on 11th March.

+10
+10
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Yourick van Wageningen, Laura Verlinden, Egbert Jan Weeber, Maarten Heijmans, Peter Van den Begin, Angela Schijf, Loek Peters, Luc Feit, Tom Jansen, Tibo Vandenborre
Screenplay 
Karin van Holst Pellekaan
Cinematographer 
Rolf Dekens
Sound 
François Dumont, Carlo Thoss, Loïc Collignon
Production 
Phanta Vision, Bulletproof Cupid, Iris Productions
Distribution 
(Rightsholder:) Iris Productions
Biography

Born in Kitwe, Zambia, in 1974, Dennis Bots was raised in the Dutch town of Gemert. He graduated from the Dutch Film and Television Academy in Amsterdam in 1996. He began working for TV series, a genre which he has never given up (“Project Orpheus”, 2016; “Celblok H”, 2014). Since 2005 he has dedicated himself to children films, starting with his first feature-length film “Zoop in Africa. In the following ten years, he has directed another six films for young people, including “Secrets of War” shown at the Luxembourg City Film Festival in 2015.

Filmography
  • 2017, Storm: Letters van Vuur
  • 2015, Code M
  • 2014, Secrets of War
  • 2012, Cool Kids Don’t Cry
  • 2010, Joris en de Draak (short)
  • 2009, Anubis en de wraak van Arghus
  • 2009, Het sinterklaasjournaal: De meezing moevie
  • 2008, Anubis: Het pad der 7 zonden
  • 2007, Plop en de pinguïn
  • 2007, De vliegende Hollander (short)
  • 2005, Zoop in Afrika
  • 2004, Het meisje met de zwavelstokjes (short)
  • 2001, Emergency Exit (short)
  • 1999, Sneeuwwitje (short)
  • 1997, Reflecment (short)
  • 1996, Hugo (short)

Programm

Storm (Storm - Letters van vuur)

Dennis Bots

Niederlande, 2017 / 97 min / Deutsche Fassung / Historisches Drama, Abenteuer

Vorpremiere
In Anwesenheit der Filmcrew.

Wem kannst du trauen wenn die Inquisition dich jagt? 

Im Jahr 1512 entscheidet sich der Antwerpener Druckermeister Klaas Voeten einen verbotenen Brief zu verbreiten, der die Korruption in der Stadt beenden könnte. Doch er wird entdeckt und verhaftet. Nur seinem zwölfjährigen Sohn Storm gelingt es mit dem Originalbrief zu fliehen. Dieser wird vogelfrei erklärt und der neue Inquisitor leitet eine Hetzjagd auf ihn ein. Mit Hilfe eines Waisenmädchens flieht er in das Tunnelnetzwerk unter der Stadt um in einem Wettlauf gegen die Zeit, seinen Vater vor dem Scheiterhaufen zu retten. Wem kann er in einer von religiösem Fanatismus geprägten Welt trauen?

Mit der Meinungsfreiheit hat sich der Film ein zentrales Thema gesucht, welches heute durch die sozialen Medien aktueller denn je ist. Die Inquisition, Scheiterhaufen und die Anfänge des Buchdrucks sind komplexe Themen für Kinder, welche Dennis Bots aber über einen Protagonisten mit nachvollziehbaren Motiven leicht verständlich vermittelt. In den Niederlanden ist der Film Teil des Gedenkjahres zum 500. Jubiläum des Reformationsprozesses.

 

Die Produzenten Nicolas Steil und Harro van Staverden, sowie der Regisseur Dennis Bots werden während der Vorpremiere von "Storm" am 11. März anwesend sein.

+10
+10
Cast & Credits
Darsteller 
Yourick van Wageningen, Laura Verlinden, Egbert Jan Weeber, Maarten Heijmans, Peter Van den Begin, Angela Schijf, Loek Peters, Luc Feit, Tom Jansen, Tibo Vandenborre
Drehbuch 
Karin van Holst Pellekaan
Kamera 
Rolf Dekens
Ton 
François Dumont, Carlo Thoss, Loïc Collignon
Produktion 
Phanta Vision, Bulletproof Cupid, Iris Productions
Verleih 
(Rechteinhaber:) Iris Productions
Biografie

Dennis Bots wurde 1974 in Kitwe, Zambia, geboren und wuchs im niederländischen Gemert auf. 1996 schliesst er  sein Studium an der Dutch Film and Television Academy in Amsterdam erfolgreich ab. Erste Erfahrungen macht er bei Fernsehserien, einem Gebiet auf dem er noch heute arbeitet („Project Orpheus“, 2016; „Celblok H“, 2014). Ab 2005 widmet er sich dem Kinderfilm und dreht seinen ersten Langspielfilm „Zoop in Afrika“. Es folgen darauf weitere sechs Kinder- und Jugendfilme, darunter „Secrets of War“, eine Luxemburger Koproduktion, die 2015 beim Luxembourg City Film Festival gezeigt wurde.

Filmografie
  • 2017, Storm: Letters van Vuur
  • 2015, Code M
  • 2014, Secrets of War
  • 2012, Cool Kids Don’t Cry
  • 2010, Joris en de Draak (Kurzfilm)
  • 2009, Anubis en de wraak van Arghus
  • 2009, Het sinterklaasjournaal: De meezing moevie
  • 2008, Anubis: Het pad der 7 zonden
  • 2007, Plop en de pinguïn
  • 2007, De vliegende Hollander (Kurzfilm)
  • 2005, Zoop in Afrika
  • 2004, Het meisje met de zwavelstokjes (Kurzfilm)
  • 2001, Emergency Exit (Kurzfilm)
  • 1999, Sneeuwwitje (Kurzfilm)
  • 1997, Reflecment (Kurzfilm)
  • 1996, Hugo (Kurzfilm)