Programme

A LUXFILMFEST TRIBUTE TO TERRY GILLIAM

In 2021, Luxembourg City Film Festival pays tribute to a true cinematic legend: American-born British film director, screenwriter, animator, actor, comedian and former member of the Monty Python comedy troupe, Terry Gilliam.

 

After directing his fellow Pythons in Monty Python and the Holy Grail, and Meaning of Life, Terry Gilliam went on to write and direct films including Jabberwocky, Time Bandits and Brazil which was nominated for the Academy Awards for Best Screenplay and Best Art Direction. The Fisher King, won the Silver Lion in Venice in 1996, whereas 12 Monkeys competed for a Golden Bear at the 46th Berlinale in 1996. Two years later, he was nominated for the Palme d’Or in Cannes for his adaptation of Hunter S. Thompson’s book Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. A directorial all-rounder, Terry has also turned his hand to opera – directing Berlioz’s The Damnation of Faust at the English National Opera. His labour of love, The Man Who Killed Don Quixote, starring Jonathan Pryce and Adam Driver, received the longest standing ovation in the history of closing films at Cannes 2018.

The acclaimed director’s work can be (re)discovered in a retrospective at Ciné Utopia and the Cinémathèque during the Festival, as well as later the Cinémathèque.

 

Forced to cancel his visit to LuxFilmFest due to the sanitary situation, Terry Gilliam confirmed that he would be willing to attend an exclusive Masterclass in Luxembourg, as soon as the situation will allow for it. More information coming soon.

Opening hours

What's on ?

NewImages - XR3 Virtual Exhibition

Dive into virtual worlds at Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain from 9th-20th June. From 9th to 20th June, Film Fund Luxembourg, in collaboration with Luxembourg City Film Festival and... → More

We are hiring!

We are looking for motivated new members for our team for the next LuxFilmFest. Are you a motivated, dynamic and organised film lover and have always dreamt of working for... → More

LuxFilmLab #8 - Minari

On Wednesday, 2nd June , LuxFilmLab will feature yet another exclusive premiere at Ciné Utopia. We are extremely happy to bring you five screenings (at 7 PM, 7.10 PM, 7.20... → More

Programmation

A LUXFILMFEST TRIBUTE TO TERRY GILLIAM

En 2021, le Luxembourg City Film Festival rendra hommage à une véritable légende du cinéma : Le réalisateur, scénariste, animateur, acteur, comédien et ancien membre de la troupe des Monty Python, Terry Gilliam.

D'origine américaine et naturalisé britannique, Terry Gilliam a mis en scène les autres comédiens des Monty Python dans Monthy Python : Sacré Graal ! et Monty Python : Le Sens de la vie avant d’écrire et de réaliser Jabberwocky, Bandits, bandits et Brazil, nommé aux Oscars pour le meilleur scénario et la meilleure direction artistique. The Fisher King : Le Roi pêcheur remporte le Lion d'argent à Venise en 1991, tandis que L’Armée des douze singes concourt pour un Ours d'or à la 46e Berlinale en 1996.  Deux ans plus tard, il est en lice pour la Palme d'or à Cannes pour son adaptation du livre de Hunter S. Thompson, Las Vegas Parano. Homme aux talents multiples, Terry Gilliam se tourne également vers l'opéra en mettant en scène La Damnation de Faust de Berlioz au « English National Opera ». Son projet qu’il a porté avec passion, L'Homme qui tua Don Quichotte, avec Jonathan Pryce et Adam Driver, reçoit la plus longue ovation de l'histoire des films de clôture à Cannes en 2018.

L’œuvre du célèbre réalisateur pourra être découverte ou redécouverte lors d’une rétrospective à Ciné Utopia et à la Cinémathèque pendant le Festival ainsi qu’ultérieurement à la Cinémathèque.

 

Contraint de renoncer à sa venue au LuxFilmFest au regard du contexte sanitaire, Terry Gilliam nous a confirmé qu’il se prêterait à une Masterclass exclusive au Luxembourg, dès que la situation le permettra. Plus d’informations prochainement.

Horaires d'ouverture

Actualités du festival

LuxFilmLab #13 - Nouvel Ordre

Le LuxFilmLab est heureux d'avoir le privilège de vous proposer, ce mercredi 3 novembre à 19h30 (au Ciné Utopia), Nouvel Ordre de Michel Franco, gagnant du Prix du Jury à... → More

Séances Scolaires Spéciales | Automne 2021

A l'automne 2021, Luxembourg City Film Festival présentera en novembre et décembre, en collaboration avec le Ministère de l'éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse , ainsi que le... → More

LuxFilmLab #12 - La Civil

Le LuxFilmLab est heureux d'avoir le privilège de vous proposer, le mercredi 6 octobre à 19h30 (au Ciné Utopia), La Civil de Teodora Mihai. Acclamé au Festival de Cannes, La... → More