Programme

A LUXFILMFEST TRIBUTE TO TERRY GILLIAM

In 2021, Luxembourg City Film Festival pays tribute to a true cinematic legend: American-born British film director, screenwriter, animator, actor, comedian and former member of the Monty Python comedy troupe, Terry Gilliam.

 

After directing his fellow Pythons in Monty Python and the Holy Grail, and Meaning of Life, Terry Gilliam went on to write and direct films including Jabberwocky, Time Bandits and Brazil which was nominated for the Academy Awards for Best Screenplay and Best Art Direction. The Fisher King, won the Silver Lion in Venice in 1996, whereas 12 Monkeys competed for a Golden Bear at the 46th Berlinale in 1996. Two years later, he was nominated for the Palme d’Or in Cannes for his adaptation of Hunter S. Thompson’s book Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. A directorial all-rounder, Terry has also turned his hand to opera – directing Berlioz’s The Damnation of Faust at the English National Opera. His labour of love, The Man Who Killed Don Quixote, starring Jonathan Pryce and Adam Driver, received the longest standing ovation in the history of closing films at Cannes 2018.

The acclaimed director’s work can be (re)discovered in a retrospective at Ciné Utopia and the Cinémathèque during the Festival, as well as later the Cinémathèque.

 

Forced to cancel his visit to LuxFilmFest due to the sanitary situation, Terry Gilliam confirmed that he would be willing to attend an exclusive Masterclass in Luxembourg, as soon as the situation will allow for it. More information coming soon.

Opening hours

What's on ?

LUXFILMLAB - TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

Join us at Ciné Utopia Wednesday, September 7th at 7:00 PM for this month's LuxFilmLab for a screening of the last Palme d'or: Triangle of Sadness from Ruben Östlund. After... → More

Corsage Premiere

Come and see Corsage before anyone else on Friday 2 September at 7 pm at Kinépolis Kirchberg. During this Luxembourgish premiere, director Marie Kreutzer and actresses Vicky Krieps and Jeanne... → More

EFF Website is now live

The Europa Film Festivals website is now online! Find all the news and information about the federation here: https://europafilmfestivals.eu Europa Film Festivals is a network of 12 European festivals of... → More

Programmation

A LUXFILMFEST TRIBUTE TO TERRY GILLIAM

En 2021, le Luxembourg City Film Festival rendra hommage à une véritable légende du cinéma : Le réalisateur, scénariste, animateur, acteur, comédien et ancien membre de la troupe des Monty Python, Terry Gilliam.

D'origine américaine et naturalisé britannique, Terry Gilliam a mis en scène les autres comédiens des Monty Python dans Monthy Python : Sacré Graal ! et Monty Python : Le Sens de la vie avant d’écrire et de réaliser Jabberwocky, Bandits, bandits et Brazil, nommé aux Oscars pour le meilleur scénario et la meilleure direction artistique. The Fisher King : Le Roi pêcheur remporte le Lion d'argent à Venise en 1991, tandis que L’Armée des douze singes concourt pour un Ours d'or à la 46e Berlinale en 1996.  Deux ans plus tard, il est en lice pour la Palme d'or à Cannes pour son adaptation du livre de Hunter S. Thompson, Las Vegas Parano. Homme aux talents multiples, Terry Gilliam se tourne également vers l'opéra en mettant en scène La Damnation de Faust de Berlioz au « English National Opera ». Son projet qu’il a porté avec passion, L'Homme qui tua Don Quichotte, avec Jonathan Pryce et Adam Driver, reçoit la plus longue ovation de l'histoire des films de clôture à Cannes en 2018.

L’œuvre du célèbre réalisateur pourra être découverte ou redécouverte lors d’une rétrospective à Ciné Utopia et à la Cinémathèque pendant le Festival ainsi qu’ultérieurement à la Cinémathèque.

 

Contraint de renoncer à sa venue au LuxFilmFest au regard du contexte sanitaire, Terry Gilliam nous a confirmé qu’il se prêterait à une Masterclass exclusive au Luxembourg, dès que la situation le permettra. Plus d’informations prochainement.

Horaires d'ouverture

Actualités du festival

LUXFILMLAB - Triangle of sadness

Le LuxFilmLab est heureux d'avoir le privilège de vous proposer, le mercredi 7 septembre à 19h00 au Ciné Utopia, Sans Filtre (Triangle of Sadness) de Ruben Östlund, la Palme d'or... → More

Première Corsage

Ne manquez pas la projection exceptionnelle de Corsage en avant-première vendredi 2 septembre 19h à Kinépolis Kirchberg. La réalisatrice Marie Kreutzer sera présente ainsi que les actrices Vicky Krieps et... → More

Le site EFF est en ligne

Le site Europa Film Festivals est désormais en ligne ! Retrouvez toute l’actualité et informations de la fédération ici : https://europafilmfestivals.eu Europa Film Festivals est un réseau de 12 festivals... → More