Programme

Bye bye Germany (Es war einmal in Deutschland...)

Sam Gabarski

Luxembourg, Belgium, Germany, 2017 / 100 min / German version with English and French subtitles / Comedy

„Hitler is dead, but we are still alive!“ – David Bermann

1946. Frankfurt. A deportation camp. David Bermann and his six friends, all Holocaust survivors, have only one objective: to go to America as soon as possible. For this they need money. A lot of money. Not an easy task in these difficult times. Close to his goal, David doesn’t just lose all of his savings but his shady past also catches up with him. Why does he have a second passport? Why was he on the Obersalzberg? Was he in touch with Hitler? This is what the ruthless Nazi hunter Sara Simon wants to find out.

 

Sam Gabarski directs the dramatic post-war comedy as an ode to life with a lot of gall, wit and Jewish humour. “Es war einmal in Deutschland…” is based on Michel Bergmann’s semi-autobiographical novels “Die Teilacher” and “Machloikes” that director and writer have managed to adapt congenially.

Screenings
Thu 09/03 19:00 Kinepolis Kirchberg DE OV with FR & EN subt. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Moritz Bleibtreu, Antje Traue, Mark Ivanir, Pál Mácsai, Anatole Taubman, Tim Seyfi, Hans Löw, Vaclav Jakoubek, Jeanne Werner, Jeffrey Mittelmann, Christian Kmiotek, Tania Garbarski, André Jung, Fabienne Hollwege
Screenplay 
Michel Bergmann, Sam Garbarski, based on the novels "Die Teilacher" and "Machloikes" by Michel Bergmann
Cinematographer 
Virginie Saint-Martin
Sound 
Carlo Thoss
Set 
Véronique Sacrez
Music 
Renaud Garcia-Fons
Production 
SAMSA FILM, Entre Chien et Loup, IGC Films
Distribution 
Samsa Film (Rightsholder)
Biography

Sam Gabarski had been living for twenty two years in Bavaria before he moved to Belgium where he founded an advertising agency in 1970. He directed many ads and a few short films before shooting his first feature “ Rashevki’s Tango” in 2003. ”Irina Palm”, starring Marianne Faithful, was a major breakthrough and international hit following a selection at the Official Competition in Berlin in 2007.

Sam Gabarski coproduced all his five feature films with Luxembourg based Samsa Film.

Filmography
  • 2017- Es war einmal in Deutschland…
  • 2013 - Vijay and I
  • 2010 - Quartier lointain
  • 2007 - Irina Palm
  • 2003 - Le tango des Rashevski
  • 2001 - La vie, la mort & le foot (short)
  • 2001 - Joyeux Noël, Rachid (short)
  • 1999 - La dinde (short)

Programmation

Bye bye Germany (Es war einmal in Deutschland...)

Sam Gabarski

Luxembourg, Belgique, Allemagne, 2017 / 100 min / Version allemande avec sous-titres anglais et français / Comédie

« Hitler est mort, mais nous sommes en vie ! » – David Bermann

1946. Francfort. Un camp de déportés. David Bermann et ses six amis, tous survivants de la Shoah, n'ont qu'un seul but : partir pour l'Amérique dès que possible. Pour cela, ils ont besoin d'argent. Beaucoup d'argent. Pas évident en cette période difficile. Tout près du but, David est non seulement privé de toute ses économies mais aussi rattrapé par son passé trouble. Pourquoi a-t-il un second passeport ? Pourquoi était-il sur l'Obersalzberg ? Était-il en contact avec Hitler ? C'est ce que l’implacable traqueuse de nazis Sara Simon souhaite découvrir.

 

« Es war einmal in Deutschland » est une ode à la vie, une comédie impertinente sur l’après-guerre avec plein d’esprit et d’humour juif. Le film est basé sur les romans semi-autobiographiques « Die Teilacher » et « Machloikes » de Michel Bergmann, que le réalisateur et l’auteur ont adaptés de concert.

Séances
jeu 09/03 19:00 Kinepolis Kirchberg VO ALL sst. FR & EN Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Moritz Bleibtreu, Antje Traue, Mark Ivanir, Pál Mácsai, Anatole Taubman, Tim Seyfi, Hans Löw, Vaclav Jakoubek, Jeanne Werner, Jeffrey Mittelmann, Christian Kmiotek, Tania Garbarski, André Jung, Fabienne Hollwege
Scénario  
Michel Bergmann, Sam Garbarski, d'après les romans "Die Teilacher" et "Machloikes" de Michel Bergmann
Image 
Virginie Saint-Martin
Son 
Carlo Thoss
Décors 
Véronique Sacrez
Musique 
Renaud Garcia-Fons
Production 
SAMSA FILM, Entre Chien et Loup, IGC Films
Distribution 
Samsa Film (Ayant Droit)
Biographie du réalisateur

Sam Gabarski a vécu vingt-deux ans en Bavière avant de fonder en 1970 une agence de publicité en Belgique. Il y tourne de nombreux spots publicitaires et plusieurs courts-métrages avant de passer au long-métrage avec “Le Tango des Rashevski” (2003). Son deuxième film “Irina Palm” (2007), avec Marianne Faithful dans le rôle principal, est sélectionné en Compétition à Berlin et connaît  un vrai succès international.  Sam Gabarski a coproduit l’ensemble de ses cing long-métrages avec la société luxembourgeoise Samsa Film.

Filmographie
  • 2017- Es war einmal in Deutschland…
  • 2013 - Vijay and I
  • 2010 - Quartier lointain
  • 2007 - Irina Palm
  • 2003 - Le tango des Rashevski
  • 2001 - La vie, la mort & le foot (court métrage)
  • 2001 - Joyeux Noël, Rachid (court métrage)
  • 1999 - La dinde (court métrage)