Programme

THE FANTASTIC

Maija Blåfield

Finland, 2020 / 30 min / Korean & English OV with English subt. / Documentary

Collaboration Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain
Followed by a pre-recorded Q&A with the director, Maija Blåfield

 

North Korean dissidents recount their experiences watching forbidden foreign films.

For a small minority of North Koreans, western films smuggled into the country on USB sticks and on video cassettes from the 1990s are the only window to a world outside of the Democratic People’s Republic. Based on conversations recorded in Seoul with former inhabitants of North Korea, accompanied by shots taken in the country, on the Chinese border, and in the demilitarised zone, Maija Blåfield evokes the way in which North Koreans have fantasised about the external world by secretly watching forbidden western fictional films. Without points of reference and without knowledge of the extent in which these fictional films reflect “reality”, the act of watching these illegal movies and the unknown, foreign world portrayed in them, plunges the North Koreans into deep incertitude.

The Fantastic is a film about encountering the unknown and the relationship between imagination and reality. Alternating documentary footage and visual effects, the film raises the question of how reality is defined and what we wish to believe in. It reverses the set-up where westerners are peeping in on the everyday life of the closed-off state. In this film, it is the North Koreans who direct their curiosity at the outside world and imagine what life in Western countries is like.

Screenings
Fri 12/03 13:15 Ciné Utopia KR OV with EN subt. Public https://luxfilmfestfilms.megatix.be/fr/HO00003265
Sat 13/03 10:00 Online Public https://online.luxfilmfest.lu/film/the-fantastic/
Awards
  • Main Prize, Tampere Film Festival, 2020 (Finland)
  • Best Documentary, Aesthetica Short Film Festival, 2020 (United Kingdom)
  • Best of the Festival Award, Aesthetica Short Film Festival, 2020 (United Kingdom)
  • Best Short Documentary, MakeDox Creative Documentary Film Festival, 2020 (Macedonia)
  • Best Short Documentary, DOKer Moscow International Documentary Film Festival, 2020 (Russia)
Cast & Credits
Screenplay 
Maija Blåfield
Cinematographer 
Maija Blåfield
Sound 
Olli Huhtanen
Music 
Tuomo Puranen
Production 
Häivekuva
Biography

Maija Blåfield is a Finnish artist and experimental documentary filmmaker, born in Helsinki in 1973. Her works often combine documentary and fictional elements in some way, exploring the fantastic side of our everyday life and digging up the stories behind contemporary events. She was granted the State Prize for Media Arts in 2014 and in 2017, and she was a nominee for the Ars Fennica contemporary art award. Her works have been screened at various international festivals, on television, and in art museums. Her short film On Destruction and Preservation won the Best of the Festival Ken Burns Award at the 57th Ann Arbor Film Festival in 2019. The Fantastic (2020) is her latest short. It already won prices and screened at several international film festivals.

Filmography
  • 2020 – The Fantastic (documentary short )
  • 2018 – Tuhoutumisesta ja säilyttämisestä (documentary short)
  • 2015 – Kulta-aika (documentary short)
  • 2011 – Jos minut olisi haudattu kadunkulmaan (documentary short)
  • 2007 – Kun taivas putoaa...remake (documentary short)
  • 2005 – Maailmaa Pelastamassa (documentary short)

Programmation

THE FANTASTIC

Maija Blåfield

Finlande, 2020 / 30 min / VO coréenne et anglaise avec sst. anglais / Documentaire

Collaboration Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain
Projection suivie d’un Q&A préenregistré avec la réalisatrice Maija Blåfield

Des ex-ressortissant.e.s nord-coréen.ne.s nous livrent leur vision de l’Occident au temps où ils/elles regardaient illégalement des films étrangers.

Pour une partie de la population nord-coréenne, les films occidentaux introduits clandestinement dans le pays sur des cassettes vidéo des années 1990 et sur des clés USB sont la seule fenêtre sur le monde en dehors de la République populaire démocratique. À partir de conversations enregistrées à Séoul avec des ex-ressortissant.e.s de Corée du Nord, accompagnées de prises de vues tournées dans le pays, près de la frontière chinoise et dans la zone démilitarisée, Maija Blåfield évoque la manière dont les Nord-Coréen.ne.s ont fantasmé le monde extérieur en regardant clandestinement des films occidentaux. Sans repères et sans connaissances sur cette autre réalité, les films vus les plongent dans une grande incertitude. Dans quelles mesures ces fictions sont-elles le reflet de la réalité ? 

The Fantastic est un film sur la rencontre de l’inconnu et sur la relation entre l’imagination et la réalité. Alternant séquences documentaires et effets visuels, le film pose la question de la définition de la réalité et des fantasmes. Il renverse le schéma dans lequel les Occidentaux observent la vie quotidienne de cet Etat-prison puisque ce sont les Nord-Coréen.ne.s qui dirigent leur curiosité vers le monde extérieur et imaginent ce qu'est la vie dans les pays de l’Ouest.

Séances
ven 12/03 13:15 Ciné Utopia VO KR avec sst. ANG Public https://luxfilmfestfilms.megatix.be/fr/HO00003265
sam 13/03 10:00 Online Public https://online.luxfilmfest.lu/film/the-fantastic/
Récompenses
  • Main Prize, Tampere Film Festival, 2020 (Finland)
  • Best Documentary, Aesthetica Short Film Festival, 2020 (United Kingdom)
  • Best of the Festival Award, Aesthetica Short Film Festival, 2020 (United Kingdom)
  • Best Short Documentary, MakeDox Creative Documentary Film Festival, 2020 (Macedonia)
  • Best Short Documentary, DOKer Moscow International Documentary Film Festival, 2020 (Russia)
Cast & Crédits
Scénario  
Maija Blåfield
Image 
Maija Blåfield
Son 
Olli Huhtanen
Musique 
Tuomo Puranen
Production 
Häivekuva
Biographie du réalisateur

Maija Blåfield est une cinéaste et artiste finlandaise, née en 1973 à Helsinki. Dans ses œuvres, la perspective documentaire est extrêmement créative et façonnée par une narration forte dotée d'un humour subtil. Son travail se situe entre le cinéma expérimental et le documentaire. Elle se saisit aussi volontiers de la photographie, de l'écriture et de certains procédés collectifs. Son court-métrage, On Destruction and Preservation remporte le Prix Ken Burns du meilleur film au 57e Festival du film d'Ann Arbor en 2019. The Fantastic (2020) est son dernier court-métrage et a déjà reçu plusieurs prix dans différents festivals internationaux.

Filmographie
  • 2020 – The Fantastic (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2018 – Tuhoutumisesta ja säilyttämisestä (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2015 – Kulta-aika (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2011 – Jos minut olisi haudattu kadunkulmaan (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2007 – Kun taivas putoaa...remake (court-métrage documentaire)
  • 2005 – Maailmaa Pelastamassa (court-métrage documentaire)