Programme

HERE BE DRAGONS

Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron

Luxembourg, 2018 / 15 min / English OV (EN OV) / Drama, Short

Showcase: Shorts Made In/With Luxembourg

A tale about power, the financial world, hell and its dragons.

Tara, a young businesswoman dreams of unlimited and unconditional wealth -  like the limitless riches guarded by Copia and her dragons. In order to join this circle, Tara has to abandon everything and relinquish herself to the theatre of power.

 

Screenings
Mon 11/03 18:30 Kinepolis Kirchberg Projection privée https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26810&kassi...
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Jeanne Werner, Marja-Leena Junker, Gabriel Boisante, Claire Johnston
Screenplay 
Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron
Cinematographer 
Serge Benassutti
Sound 
Arnaud Mellet
Set 
Sylvia Kasel
Music 
Angelo Mangini, Kevin Muhlen
Production 
Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron
Biography

The collaborative work of Karolina Markiewicz (1976) and Pascal Piron (1981) creates links between cinema, visual arts and theatre. At the centre is the individual in a human community, oscillating between resignation and hope.

Karolina Markiewicz studied political science, philosophy and theatre. She works as a film and theatre director. Pascal Piron studied visual arts and works as an artist and director. Both have been working as teachers for teenagers and refugees for 14 years. Their cooperation began in 2013 and allowed Pascal Piron to move away from painting and look at the image from a different angle, not only with regard to the two-dimensional perspective, but also in view of time and space. For Karolina Markiewicz, it was an opportunity to focus on writing and directing. Their most recent work is a series of short films entitled Side-Effects of Reality, presented at a personal exhibition at Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in 2016, the Rencontres Internationales de Paris in 2017 and 2018 and the Argos Centre in Brussels (2017). Here Be Dragons, a carte blanche by the Film Fund Luxembourg, fits in this series. Currently, they are working on a film and an installation including a virtual reality experience: My identity is this expanse! on the resilience of children in exile.

Filmography
  • 2018 – Here Be Dragons (short)
  • 2016 – Side-Effects of Reality (series of shorts)
HERE BE DRAGONS | Luxembourg City Film Festival

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.

Programmation

HERE BE DRAGONS

Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron

Luxembourg, 2018 / 15 min / VO anglaise (VO ANG) / drame, court-métrage

Showcase: Shorts Made In/With Luxembourg

Un conte contemporain sur le pouvoir, le monde des finances et ses dragons ainsi que l’enfer.

Tara, une jeune femme d’affaires, voudrait accéder rapidement à des richesses illimitées et sans conditions – des richesses gardées par Copia et ses dragons. Pour y parvenir, elle devra tout abandonner et apprendre les règles du pouvoir.

 

Séances
lun 11/03 18:30 Kinepolis Kirchberg Projection privée https://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/shop?event=26810&kassi...
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Jeanne Werner, Marja-Leena Junker, Gabriel Boisante, Claire Johnston
Scénario  
Karolina Markiewicz, Pascal Piron
Image 
Serge Benassutti
Son 
Arnaud Mellet
Décors 
Sylvia Kasel
Musique 
Angelo Mangini, Kevin Muhlen
Production 
Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron
Biographie du réalisateur

La collaboration entre Karolina Markiewicz (1976) et Pascal Piron (1981) créent des liens entre le cinéma, les arts visuels et le théâtre. Au centre se trouve l’individu en tant que partie d'une communauté humaine, oscillant entre résignation et espoir.

Karolina Markiewicz étudie les sciences politiques, la philosophie et le théâtre et travaille comme réalisatrice et metteuse en scène au théâtre. Pascal Piron étudie les arts visuels et travaille en tant qu'artiste et réalisateur. Tous deux travaillent également comme enseignants auprès d'enfants réfugiés depuis 14 ans. Leur coopération débute en 2013 et permet à Pascal Piron de s’éloigner de la peinture et de regarder l’image sous un angle différent, non seulement en ce qui concerne la perspective à deux dimensions, mais aussi vu de l’espace. Pour Karolina Markiewicz, ce fut l’occasion de revenir à l'écriture et la réalisation. Leur travail le plus récent est une série de courts-métrages intitulée Side-Effects of Reality, présentés lors d'une exposition personnelle au Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain en 2016, aux Rencontres Internationales de Paris en 2017 et 2018 et au Argos Centre à Bruxelles (2017). Here Be Dragons, carte blanche du Film Fund Luxembourg, s’inscrit dans cette série. Ils travaillent actuellement sur des projets cinématographiques: un film ainsi qu’une installation incluant une expérience en réalité virtuelle: My identity is this expanse! sur la résilience des enfants en exil.

Filmographie
  • 2018 – Here Be Dragons (court-métrage)
  • 2016 – Side-Effects of Reality (série de courts-métrages)