Programme

House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)

Rusudan Glurjidze

Georgia, Spain, Russia, Croatia, 2016 / 103 min / Georgian and Russia OV with EN subtitles / Drama, Anti-War

Families uprooted and disoriented by war.

Just after the Georgian civil war in the 1990s, a young family is taken to a forcibly abandoned mountain village in Abkhazia where they are given a house whose previous owners fled the conflict. Under the watchful eye of their neighbour who observes them through the scope of her rifle, amidst the previous inhabitants’ furniture, they attempt to start over in their new house – it never quite achieves to be a home –, a place haunted by the ghosts of past memories and lives lived. For both parties, the conflict has left deep scars that together with the uncertainties of this new, post-Soviet world function as hard to overcome barriers of distrust between the families.

In her debut film – the Georgian entry for Best Foreign Language Film at the 89th Academy Awards – director Rusudan Glurjidze tells a story inspired by her own life as a refugee of the war, hoping to return to and reconnect with her childhood home and memories ever since. Deemed “a ghost story without any ghosts” by The Hollywood Reporter, “House of Others” is a gripping family drama about a war where both sides may have laid down arms, but that nevertheless isn’t over

Screenings
Tue 07/03 18:30 Cinémathèque GE & RU OV with EN sub. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
Wed 08/03 21:30 Ciné Utopia GE & RU OV with EN sub. Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
+16
Awards
  • East of the West Grand Prix – 51st Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, 2016 (Czech Republic)
  • Grand Prix – Eurasia International Film Festival, 2016 (Kazakhstan)
  • DIALOGUE Prize for Intercultural Communication – Film Festival Cottbus, 2016 (Germany)
  • Cinema Extraordinaire Award – Bergen International Film Festival, 2016 (Norway)
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Salome Demuria, Ia Sukhitashvili, Olga Dykhovichnaya, Alexander Khundadze, Malkhaz Jorbenadze, Sabina Akhmedova, Zurab Magalashvili, Ekaterine Japaridze, Sandro Khundadze, Branko Djurich
Screenplay 
Dato Chubinishvili, Rusudan Glurjidze
Cinematographer 
Gorka Gómez Andreu
Sound 
Dario Domitrovic, Dominik Krnjak, Hrvoje Simic
Set 
Gogi Mikeladze
Music 
Dusan Maksimovsky
Production 
CineTech
Coproduction 
Liga Production, Kinoskopik s.l., Embrio Production, Sarke Studio
Distribution 
Tatofilm
Biography

Rusudan Glurjidze, born 1972 in Tbilisi, Georgia, studied French at the Tbilisi State University, as well as film directing and scriptwriting at the Georgian Film and Theatre Institute. After the collapse of the Soviet Union and the subsequent demise of the Georgian film industry, she directed music clips, ads and worked for national TV. “House of Others“ is her first feature film.

Filmography
  • 2016 - House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)

Programmation

House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)

Rusudan Glurjidze

Géorgie, Espagne, Russie, Croatie , 2016 / 103 min / VO Géorgienne et Russe avec sst. EN / Drame, Anti-Guerre

Familles déracinées et désorientées par la guerre. 

Immédiatement après la guerre civile des années 1990 en Géorgie, une jeune famille est amenée dans un village en Abkhazie où on leur attribue une maison dont les habitants précédents ont fui le conflit. Sous les yeux vigilants de leur voisine qui les observe à travers la mire de son fusil, ils essayent de recommencer leur vie dans cette nouvelle maison, remplie de meubles des anciens propriétaires, hantée de mémoires qui ne leur appartiennent pas. Pour les deux parties, le conflit a laissé des traces et les incertitudes du monde post-soviétique ont dressé des barrières difficiles à surmonter pour les deux familles.

Dans son premier film – l’entrée géorgienne aux 89e Oscars pour le meilleur film étranger – la réalisatrice Rusudan Glurjidze raconte une histoire inspirée de sa propre vie comme réfugiée du conflit, espérant retrouver la maison de son enfance et ses souvenirs. Caractérisé comme « histoire de fantômes sans fantômes » par The Hollywood Reporter, « Skhvisi Sakhli » est un drame passionnant sur une famille dans une guerre où les belligérants ont déposé les armes, mais qui n’est toutefois pas arrivée à terme.

Séances
mar 07/03 18:30 Cinémathèque VO GE & RU sst. EN Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
mer 08/03 21:30 Ciné Utopia VO GE & RU sst. EN Public http://ticket.luxembourg-ticket.lu/luxfilmfest/webticket/bestseatselect?eventId=...
+16
Récompenses
  • East of the West Grand Prix – 51st Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, 2016 (Czech Republic)
  • Grand Prix – Eurasia International Film Festival, 2016 (Kazakhstan)
  • DIALOGUE Prize for Intercultural Communication – Film Festival Cottbus, 2016 (Germany)
  • Cinema Extraordinaire Award – Bergen International Film Festival, 2016 (Norway)
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Salome Demuria, Ia Sukhitashvili, Olga Dykhovichnaya, Alexander Khundadze, Malkhaz Jorbenadze, Sabina Akhmedova, Zurab Magalashvili, Ekaterine Japaridze, Sandro Khundadze, Branko Djurich
Scénario  
Dato Chubinishvili, Rusudan Glurjidze
Image 
Gorka Gómez Andreu
Son 
Dario Domitrovic, Dominik Krnjak, Hrvoje Simic
Décors 
Gogi Mikeladze
Musique 
Dusan Maksimovsky
Production 
CineTech
Coproduction 
Liga Production, Kinoskopik s.l., Embrio Production, Sarke Studio
Distribution 
Tatofilm
Biographie du réalisateur

Rusudan Glurjidze, née à Tbilissi, en 1972, a étudié le français à l’Université d’État de Tbilissi et la réalisation ainsi que l’écriture de scénario à l’Institut Géorgien du Film et du Théâtre. L’URSS entraîne l’industrie du cinéma géorgien dans sa chute et, en conséquence, la jeune Glurjidze ne trouve du travail qu’en tant que réalisatrice de pubs et de clips vidéo pour la télévision nationale. « House of Others » est son premier long-métrage.

Filmographie
  • 2016 - House of Others (Skhvisi Sakhli)