Programme

Storm (Storm - Letters van vuur)

Dennis Bots

Netherlands , 2017 / 97 min / German version / Historical Drama, Adventure

Premiere
In the presence of the film’s crew.

In a world set afire, one boy has the key to freedom.

Set in 1512, Letter of Fire tells the story of Storm, the twelve-year-old son of an Antwerp printer, Klaas Voeten, who secretly prints banned texts. When Klaas decides to print a forbidden letter that could stop the corruption in the city, he is caught and arrested. Storm manages to escape with the original letter.  He is outlawed and becomes the centre of a manhunt led by the new Inquisitor. Aided by the orphan Marieke, Storm escapes into the city sewers and finds himself in a race against time to rescue his father from burning at the stake. But whom can he trust in a world fallen into religious fanaticism?

The central theme of the film is free speech, more relevant than ever today with the rise of social media. The Inquisition, the stake and the early days of the printing press are complex themes for children that Dennis Bots manages to convey easily by using Storm as a hero with relatable motives.

 

Producers Nicolas Steil and Harro van Staverden, as well as the director Dennis Bots are going to be present for the premiere of "Storm" on 11th March.

+10
+10
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Yourick van Wageningen, Laura Verlinden, Egbert Jan Weeber, Maarten Heijmans, Peter Van den Begin, Angela Schijf, Loek Peters, Luc Feit, Tom Jansen, Tibo Vandenborre
Screenplay 
Karin van Holst Pellekaan
Cinematographer 
Rolf Dekens
Sound 
François Dumont, Carlo Thoss, Loïc Collignon
Production 
Phanta Vision, Bulletproof Cupid, Iris Productions
Distribution 
(Rightsholder:) Iris Productions
Biography

Born in Kitwe, Zambia, in 1974, Dennis Bots was raised in the Dutch town of Gemert. He graduated from the Dutch Film and Television Academy in Amsterdam in 1996. He began working for TV series, a genre which he has never given up (“Project Orpheus”, 2016; “Celblok H”, 2014). Since 2005 he has dedicated himself to children films, starting with his first feature-length film “Zoop in Africa. In the following ten years, he has directed another six films for young people, including “Secrets of War” shown at the Luxembourg City Film Festival in 2015.

Filmography
  • 2017, Storm: Letters van Vuur
  • 2015, Code M
  • 2014, Secrets of War
  • 2012, Cool Kids Don’t Cry
  • 2010, Joris en de Draak (short)
  • 2009, Anubis en de wraak van Arghus
  • 2009, Het sinterklaasjournaal: De meezing moevie
  • 2008, Anubis: Het pad der 7 zonden
  • 2007, Plop en de pinguïn
  • 2007, De vliegende Hollander (short)
  • 2005, Zoop in Afrika
  • 2004, Het meisje met de zwavelstokjes (short)
  • 2001, Emergency Exit (short)
  • 1999, Sneeuwwitje (short)
  • 1997, Reflecment (short)
  • 1996, Hugo (short)

Programmation

Storm (Storm - Letters van vuur)

Dennis Bots

Pays-Bas, 2017 / 97 min / Version allemande / Drame Historique, Aventure

Avant-première
En présence de l’équipe du film.

Dans un monde mis à feu et à sang, un garcon à la clé pour la liberté. 

En 1512, sous l’Inquisition, l’imprimeur Klaas Voeten décide d’imprimer une lettre interdite qui pourrait mettre fin à la corruption à Anvers. Mais on le découvre et il est arrêté. Son fils de douze ans, Storm, réussit à s’enfuir avec la lettre originale et est déclaré hors-la-loi. Une chasse à l’homme est organisée par le nouvel Inquisiteur pour le rattraper. Aidé par l’orpheline Marieke, Storm s’échappe par les égouts de la ville et, dans une course contre la montre, il cherche à sauver son père du bûcher. A qui peut-il faire confiance dans un monde frappé par le fanatisme religieux ?

Le sujet central du film est la liberté de parole, un sujet plus actuel que jamais avec l’avènement des médias sociaux. Alors que l’Inquisition, le bûcher et l’arrivée de l’’imprimerie sont des thèmes complexes à appréhender pour les enfants, Dennis Bots les aborde en procurant à Storm des motivations avec lesquelles ils peuvent s’identifier.

 

L'avant-première de « Storm » le 11 mars aura lieu en présence des producteurs Nicolas Steil et Harro van Staverden, et du réalisateur Dennis Bots.

+10
+10
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Yourick van Wageningen, Laura Verlinden, Egbert Jan Weeber, Maarten Heijmans, Peter Van den Begin, Angela Schijf, Loek Peters, Luc Feit, Tom Jansen, Tibo Vandenborre
Scénario  
Karin van Holst Pellekaan
Image 
Rolf Dekens
Son 
François Dumont, Carlo Thoss, Loïc Collignon
Production 
Phanta Vision, Bulletproof Cupid, Iris Productions
Distribution 
(Ayant Droit:) Iris Productions
Biographie du réalisateur

Né à Kitwe (Zambie) en 1974, Dennis Bots grandit à Gemert (Pays-Bas). Il décroche son diplôme de la Nederlandse Film en Televisie Academie en 1996 et fait ses premiers pas dans les séries TV, domaine dans lequel il travaille encore aujourd’hui (« Project Orpheus », 2016 ; « Celblok H », 2014). Dès 2005 il commence à se consacrer au cinéma pour enfants et tourne son premier long-métrage « Zoop in Afrika ». Suivront ensuite six autres films pour la jeunesse, dont « Secrets of War » présenté au Luxembourg City Film Festival en 2015. 

Filmographie
  • 2017, Storm: Letters van Vuur
  • 2015, Code M
  • 2014, Secrets of War
  • 2012, Cool Kids Don’t Cry
  • 2010, Joris en de Draak (court-métrage)
  • 2009, Anubis en de wraak van Arghus
  • 2009, Het sinterklaasjournaal: De meezing moevie
  • 2008, Anubis: Het pad der 7 zonden
  • 2007, Plop en de pinguïn
  • 2007, De vliegende Hollander (court-métrage)
  • 2005, Zoop in Afrika
  • 2004, Het meisje met de zwavelstokjes (court métrage)
  • 2001, Emergency Exit (court-métrage)
  • 1999, Sneeuwwitje (court-métrage)
  • 1997, Reflecment (court-métrage)
  • 1996, Hugo (court-métrage)