Programme

A Vanishing Fog

Augusto Sandino

Colombia, Czech Republic, Norway, 2021 / 76 min / Spanish OV with English subt. / Drama, Fantasy, Mystery

In the middle of the staggering and endangered Paramo of Sumapaz; F, a solitary explorer and guardian of the mountains, condemned by his fate, strives to protect the mystical and fragile ecosystem he inhabits, while caring for his ailing father. Facing the imminent return of violence and overcoming his human limitations, F has been preparing his escape, but before pursuing a new dimension, he will have to endure a heartrending farewell.

A Vanishing Fog is a cinematic and sensory experience entirely shot in the endangered Paramo of Sumapaz in Colombia — a place of great importance for the ecological balance of the entire Western hemisphere. It pays homage to this magical place and to its people. It’s a personal call to take urgent environmental action”

“A deeply personal film, perhaps a song or a poem, a liberation. Between past and future, between sanity and delirium, between bliss and tragedy, I have built a cinematographic work of mystery. At times, the impossibility of representing the absolute and the transcendent leads us to get in touch with abstraction. As we open the door and enter through a tunnel guiding us to a garden, we find paradise, ascension, desire, fear, and the multiple realities that bring us closer to the sacred and divine. There are people who have suffered anguish and true horror, fleeing aimlessly to save a worthless life. Freedom and creation justly settle in to enunciate the fatidic and the unhuman. Art must agitate the spirit. With the curiosity of a free child, through imagination, we can embark upon a journey from the amazing Paramo of Sumapaz toward a different dimension where everything is possible. “
Director’s statements, Augusto Sandino

Screenings
Sat 12/03 19:00 Ciné Utopia ES OV with ENG subt. Public https://luxfilmfestfilms.megatix.be/en/HO00004378?locationFilters=LFFCU&dateTime...

“Colombia’s ancient mountains are the setting for Augusto Sandino’s surrealist family drama” Jonathan Holland, Screen Daily, 20/11/2021

“Augusto Sandino’s film mixes magical realism with psychological-drama elements, with an impending ecological disaster taking place in the background (…) a cinematic experience" Davide Abbatescianni, Cineuropa, 29/11/2021

“Packed with ambitious imagery that playfully wavers between the social drama and science fiction, “A Vanishing Fog” uses as a background the deeply beautiful landscape of the Páramo of Sumapaz, the biggest of its kind, whose soil – as most of Colombia’s ecologically rich lands – has been scorched by the country’s social conflict and environmental irresponsibility.” Emiliano Granada, Variety, 5/11/2021

Sélections
  • Official Selection, Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival, 2021), Estonia
Cast & Credits
Cast 
Sebastian Pii, Mario de Jesús Viana, Christian Ballesteros
Screenplay 
Augusto Sandino
Cinematographer 
Gio Park
Montage 
Augusto Sandino
Music 
Emil Nygård Olsen
Production 
Schweizen Media Group
Distribution 
Pluto Film
Biography

Augusto Sandino is one of the outstanding names in Colombian contemporary cinema. Winner of over 30 international prizes and the National Cinema Award 2000-2005 given by the Ministry of Culture of Colombia for his short Aniversario. His feature debut Suave el aliento (Gentle Breath) won the Special Jury prize and the FIPRESCI award at Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival in 2016. He is the founding director of the Auteur cinema symposium manifesto with Carlos Reygadas, Lisandro Alonso and Amat Escalante in 2014. He has also been the producer of his films “La forma del presente” (The Shape of Now) which was presented at DOK Leipzig Next in 2018; “La torre” (The Tower) selected at the Rotterdam International Film Festival 2018; Karen llora en un bus (Karen Cries on the Bus) has been presented at the Forum section of the Berlinale in 2011.
A Vanishing Fog is his second feature film.

Filmography
  • 2021 - A Vanishing Fog
  • 2016 - Suave el aliento (Gentle Breath)

Programmation

A Vanishing Fog

Augusto Sandino

Colombie, République tchèque, Norvège, 2021 / 76 min / VO espagnole avec sous-titres anglais / Drame, Fantastique, Mystère

Au milieu du Paramo de Sumapaz en Colombie, la nature est sublime mais menacée.
F., un explorateur solitaire et un gardien des montagnes qu’il habite est condamné par son destin. Il s'efforce de protéger l'écosystème à la fois mystique et fragile des montagnes, tout en prenant soin de son père malade.
Le retour imminent de la violence et de la finitude des capacités humaines, lui font rechercher une porte de sortie. Mais avant d’entrer dans une nouvelle dimension, F. devra faire un adieu déchirant.

« A Vanishing Fog est une expérience cinématographique et sensorielle entièrement tournée dans le Paramo de Sumapaz en Colombie, qui est en voie de disparition. C’est un lieu d'une grande importance pour l'équilibre écologique de tout l'hémisphère occidental. Le film rend hommage à ce lieu magique et à ses habitants. C’est un appel personnel à prendre des mesures environnementales urgentes. » 

« C’est un film profondément personnel, peut-être une chanson, un poème ou une libération. Entre passé et futur, entre sérieux et délire, entre béatitude et tragédie, j'ai construit une œuvre cinématographique de mystère. Parfois, l'impossibilité de représenter l'absolu et le transcendant nous amène nous amène à toucher à l'abstraction. Alors que nous ouvrons la porte et entrons par un tunnel nous guidant vers un jardin, nous trouvons le paradis, le désir, la peur et les multiples réalités qui nous rapprochent du sacré et du divin. Des personnes ont souffert d'angoisses et de véritables horreurs, fuyant sans but pour sauver une vie qui ne vaut plus rien. La liberté et la création sont justement là pour énoncer l’inéluctable et l'inhumain. L'art doit agiter l'esprit. Avec la curiosité d'un enfant libre, avec l'imagination, nous pouvons embarquer pour un voyage dans l'étonnant Paramo de Sumapaz vers une autre dimension où tout est possible. "
Propos du réalisateur, Augusto Sandino

Séances
sam 12/03 19:00 Ciné Utopia VO ES avec sst.ANG Public https://luxfilmfestfilms.megatix.be/fr/HO00004378?locationFilters=LFFCU&dateTime...

"Ce film d’Augusto Sandino ajoute au réalisme magique des éléments de drame psychologique, avec en toile de fond un désastre écologique imminent (...) une expérience cinématographique" Davide Abbatescianni, Cineuropa, 29/11/2021

Sélections
  • Official Selection, Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival, 2021), Estonia
Cast & Crédits
Interprètes 
Sebastian Pii, Mario de Jesús Viana, Christian Ballesteros
Scénario  
Augusto Sandino
Image 
Gio Park
Montage 
Augusto Sandino
Musique 
Emil Nygård Olsen
Production 
Schweizen Media Group
Distribution 
Pluto Film
Biographie du réalisateur

Augusto Sandino est l'un des grands noms du cinéma colombien contemporain. Il est lauréat de plus de trente prix internationaux et du Prix national du cinéma 2000-2005 décerné par le ministère de la Culture colombien pour son court-métrage Aniversario. Son premier long-métrage Suave el aliento (Gentle Breath) remporte le Prix Spécial du Jury et le prix FIPRESCI au Festival Tallinn Black Nights en 2016. Il est le membre fondateur du Manifeste du symposium sur le Cinéma d’Auteur avec Carlos Reygadas, Lisandro Alonso et Amat Escalante en 2014. Il est également producteur des films : « La forma del presente » (The Shape of Now) présenté au Festival DOK Leipzig en 2018 ; « La torre » (La tour) sélectionné au Festival international du film de Rotterdam 2018 ; Karen llora en un bus (Karen Cries on the Bus) présentée dans la section Forum de la Berlinale en 2011.

A Vanishing Fog est son second long-métrage.

Filmographie
  • 2021 - A Vanishing Fog
  • 2016 - Suave el aliento (Gentle Breath)