Guests

PETER ANTHONY GALLO

Director ‘Hear their Cries’ and former UN investigator

Peter Gallo is a qualified lawyer admitted to practice in Scotland, Hong Kong and New York. He has an MBA and an LLM in International Criminal Law.  He spent 19 years as an investigator based in Hong Kong, working on investigations in some of the most corrupt countries in Asia and was a leading authority on the identification and detection of money laundering. 

In 2011, he was recruited by the United Nations, as an investigator in the Office of Internal Oversight Services, Investigations Division in New York; the office that is supposed to investigate corruption, fraud and other criminality in the Organization.

After his insights and personal experiences there, he became an outspoken critic of the UN, particularly with regard to the manner in which corruption is covered up.  

In April 2016 he testified before a Congressional Committee on the lack of accountability and the organization’s failure to address the widespread sexual abuses in peacekeeping missions, and was one of the founders of the group ‘Hear their Cries’ which was established specifically to fight the United Nations abuse of ‘privileges and immunities’ to protect UN staff members accused of child sex offences.

He has been quoted extensively in the international media and appeared on television in a number of countries worldwide. His recent book, 'Neither Protection nor New' is a critical analysis of the U.N.'s policies on Sexual Exploitation and Abuse.

What's on ?

LuxFilmFest - Home Edition: Theme Weeks

Relive LuxFilmFest’s previous editions on VOD.lu! Over the course of April, LuxFilmFest – Home Edition brought some of the Luxembourgish (co)productions selected for the Festival’s tenth edition to VOD.lu. Now,... → More

11th Luxembourg City Film Festival in 2021

The dates of LuxFilmFest's 11th edition revealed! The team of the Luxembourg City Film Festival is pleased to announce the dates of the Festival’s upcoming 11th edition that will take... → More

AND THE WINNER IS - EFA YOUNG AUDIENCE AWARD 2020

Teenagers in 70 European cities and beyond have spoken! From 23rd to 26th April, 2,000 12 to 14-year-old film fans from 32 European countries, including Luxembourg, watched the three films... → More

Invités

PETER ANTHONY GALLO

Peter Gallo est un avocat qualifié exerçant en Écosse, à Hong Kong et à New York. Il est titulaire d'un MBA et d'une maîtrise en droit pénal international. Enquêteur basé à Hong Kong, il passe 19 ans à mener des enquêtes dans certains des pays les plus corrompus d’Asie et à jouer un rôle de premier plan dans l’identification et la détection du blanchiment de capitaux.

En 2011, il est recruté par l’ONU comme enquêteur à la Division des enquêtes du Bureau des services de contrôle interne à New York, le bureau censé enquêter sur la corruption, la fraude et toute autre criminalité au sein de l'Organisation.

Suite à ses expériences personnelles, il est devenu un critique virulent de l'ONU, en particulier en ce qui concerne la manière dont la corruption est dissimulée.

En avril 2016, il témoigne devant une commission du Congrès sur le manque de responsabilité et l'incapacité de l'organisation à s'attaquer aux abus sexuels généralisés commis dans les missions de maintien de la paix. Il est l'un des fondateurs du groupe « Hear their Cries », créé spécialement pour lutter contre l’abus de privilèges et immunités des Nations Unies pour protéger les membres du personnel de l'ONU accusés d’agressions sexuelles sur enfants.

Pater Gallo est abondamment cité dans les médias internationaux et à la télévision dans le monde entier. Son livre le plus récent, « Neither Protection nor New », est une analyse critique de la politique américaine en matière d'exploitation et d'abus sexuels.

Actualités du festival

LuxFilmFest - Home Edition : Semaines thématiques

Revivez les éditions passées du LuxFilmFest sur VOD.lu. Durant le mois d’avril LuxFilmFest – Home Edition vous a proposé, sur VOD.lu, de (re)découvrir plusieurs (co)productions luxembourgeoises sélectionnées pour la dixième... → More

11e Luxembourg City Film Festival en 2021

La date de la prochaine édition du Luxembourg City Film Festival dévoilée ! L’équipe du Luxembourg City Film Festival a le plaisir de vous annoncer ses prochaines dates : la... → More

FÉLICITATIONS - EFA YOUNG AUDIENCE AWARD 2020

Les jeunes à travers 70 villes de l'Europe et au-delà ont voté ! Du 23 au 26 avril 2020, 2.000 jeunes cinéphiles âgés de 12 à 14 ans issus de... → More